Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict spiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    303
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exclamation basic operating weight for the A340-300

    hello to all
    just a quik qestion on the a340
    i was looking at some operating weights and i am a bit confused so need help
    this is what i saw

    A340-300 BASIC OPERATING WEIGHT 287,000LBS
    A340-600 BASIC OPERATING WEIGHT 400,900LBS

    I saw this from a pdf file for wilcos airbus vol2
    i then loaded my A340-300 FSX with zero fuel and zero pay load
    i saw that my aircrafts weight was 177,001 kg
    converted it to lbs and got 389,402lbs it is closer to the A340-600
    can some one explain this problem or dose any one know the basic operating weight of the A340-300???
    kind regards spiro

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: basic operating weight for the A340-300

    Hi Spiro,

    It's amazing how many threads have over 500 views and nobody bothers to help, even with these simple questions! So much for a community!

    Anyway, since I am here I thought I might as well answer your question, although you've undoubtedly already found the information by now.

    The MSFSX problem could be due to a bug in the software. They have bad data because that software is a "game". Try XPlane instead. But there is also the possibility that you have selected the E model instead of the standard model.

    The empty operating weight of an A340-300 is 286,150 lbs.
    The maximum take-off weight is 573,200 lbs.

    The "E" model can increase the limits by between 24,250 lbs and 33,000 lbs, depending on how it is configured.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict spiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    303
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wink Re: basic operating weight for the A340-300

    Hi nevart
    thanks for your reply i was thinking something like that was going on

    as for xplane well i did try it before 2 years ago i was impressed with graphics and it felt more realistic for me but!!!!!!!

    i have mover on with a different setting
    FSX
    FSUIPC
    Project Magenta
    sq4(vatsim)
    and it working on win7 64bit with 4 PC

    i only fly the airbus a320 and a340-300
    i have a full a320 sim set up with out the over head yet!!!!
    i don't really know if i can go with xplane and if it will work as i wish
    at the moment i am very happy with my set up every thing is working with no crashes or problems
    i think many people will agree that its never enough we always want more out of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    do you use xplane?is it worth changing with my current set up or will i be getting into another problem!!!!!!

    kind regards and thanks for the info

Similar Threads

  1. weight of things
    By kermit in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 10:46 AM
  2. Keeping the weight down
    By Neil Hewitt in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 06:56 PM
  3. How much weight can a bedroom floor handle?
    By Crescent in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 06:32 AM
  4. Aircraft weight and payload question
    By Ray Proudfoot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 03-14-2009, 07:13 AM