Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    graphic improvment for FSX

    Hi Guys

    I normally run FS2004 without any issues and happy for its graphics.
    Lately i have been flying FSX but the graphic is a bit disappointment,
    i went out and bought a new Graphic card, HIS 7560 GT, it hardly made
    a difference. Is it my computer or is it just the FSX setup.
    I have 4 gig ram, Intelcore2 7300.
    Can anyone suggest something.
    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    FSX is a CPU intensive game so adding better graphics cards won't really help. I have an Intel Core 2 E8400 (which is faster than the processor you mention) and while FS9 does really well on it, FSX is slow unless I have many settings (e.g. AI traffic off, autogen medium) turned down.

    So if you really want smooth FSX performance, you will probably have to get a faster CPU. You might be able to tune FSX to get acceptable performance on your machine but it will involve compromising on its features.

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    ryanf is totally correct, FSX's code doesn't really take advatange of the video card's GPU or memory. The fastest CPU is really the only thing that will help. We all feel your pain!
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    Thanks for understanding. My next computer will be focused mainly on FS. haha

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    Hi there,

    Try adding the line:

    [BUFFERPOOLS]
    PoolSize=0

    To the top of your FSX.cfg

    it makes much more use of your GFX Card's memroy for outstanding FPS! Sometimes though, it can cause stutters and other problems.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    By default bufferpool size in FSX = 1000000 I wouldn't think setting this to 0 would have a negative effect. I think increasing the poolsize would be preferred.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    Quote Originally Posted by Shawn View Post
    By default bufferpool size in FSX = 1000000 I wouldn't think setting this to 0 would have a negative effect. I think increasing the poolsize would be preferred.
    That's not how it works.
    Setting Poolsize to 0 allows maximum use of the GPU memory. This works best with a 1GB+ Card.
    However, for some high values are better, it just depends on your "sweet-spot". But yes, 0 is the usual number. I have had my FPS doubled, almost Tripled in some cases.

  8. Thanks AK Mongo thanked for this post
  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    Thanks Boeing 747 Flyer, I'll give that a try then, looks like I might have been going the wrong way with the numbers, all I got with this tweak was stutters.

    Cheers

  10. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job Boeing 747 Flyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    771
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    No problem. If you get stutters, set the in-game FPS Limiter to 40. The human eye can't detect any mroe FPS and 38 anyway, so there's no point in setting higher than 40.

  11. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: graphic improvment for FSX

    hey guys

    I cant find the FSX.cfg file
    would it be under different name

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. info OC CDU and new graphic card
    By giacomo in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 10:45 AM
  2. slow autogen scenery / graphic card or not
    By henri in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-25-2010, 01:53 AM
  3. 2 Different Nvidia Graphic cards?
    By pvjen1 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 02:12 PM
  4. Has anyone got a C172 / C182 Tacho Graphic?
    By AlexJ in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2009, 05:45 PM