Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Learning how to do text

    Finally seeing some better results with text on my Zenbot CNC.

    I was cutting too fast,, I finally realized that I was using 300 in/min not 300 mm/min !!
    Also I discovered that the Bosch Colt router/spindle would only go down to 16,000 rpm minimum.

    A friend of mine who is great with electricity (Lee,, "ve4anc" on this forum) wired up an electrical box with a fan speed control rotary switch. When the spindle is plugged in ,you can dial down the rpm. That way I can get very slow rpms on the spindle.
    Beware though,, if you use a light dimmer,, it will burn up the spindle motor,, you have to use a fan speed control/dimmer.

    Attached is a picture of the KX-165 i used as a test. The dxf is in the download section.

    Also,, I used a single line font that seems to look pretty good. I had been looking on the internet for a good engravers single line font and came across a small free program called "Stick Font". After installing it I noticed that the font also came up in the Cut2D drop down list.
    It is used in the KX-165 DXF I left in the download section. it looks kind of weird on the DXF but looks alright after it is cut.


    Kx-1652..jpgKx-1651..jpgspeed controller&#.jpg

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    Nice work! I am getting about the same results, maybe a little better, but not much if any. The single line font seems to be the way to go for this stuff, I saw a post from westozy that referenced a font he used, but I can't find it now. His stuff, Phil, Wendy all look great... Keep up the good work!
    Buddy

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    I am getting close!!! This panel has 2 problems:

    (1) My CNC machine was not making perfect circles..... I found that the drive nut on the X-axis had became a little loose. I spent 20 minutes finding it and fixing it AFTER the panel was cut...

    (2) I scratched it! DARN DARN DARN!



    BUT....it's a pretty good looking attempt, The paint came out perfect! Its very tuff, and no light pentrates...


    BuddyM
    A320 Builder
    Tampa, Florida, USA

  4. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    Hi guys,
    I am told that Boeing panels use "Futura Md BT"...

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  5. Thanks Buddym thanked for this post
  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    531
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    Hey Gwyn,

    Hope you're having a great day. Wanted to say thanks again for all of the input, inspiration, and info you've given us.... it does help.


    BuddyM

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    284
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    Hello,

    You can find Futura font at the link below.
    http://members.fortunecity.es/todofu...carga/f.htm#fu

    How to manipulate fonts so that you can engrave them ?

    -If you have autocad you should also install Express Tools.
    -After you placed the text, select one letter and choose from the Express menu, Text and Explode Text
    -After Explode Text, press Enter
    -You can now see different lines that make up the letter.
    -Delete all the lines that are not necessary


    Hope this helps,

    Regards, Wendy

  8. #7
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    Quote Originally Posted by Buddym View Post
    Hey Gwyn,

    Hope you're having a great day. Wanted to say thanks again for all of the input, inspiration, and info you've given us.... it does help.


    BuddyM

    Cheers Buddy, happy to help and share what I learn!!!

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  9. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Learning how to do text

    Thanks Wendy, I,ve already downloaded the Futura text but the freeware program (Allycad) that I'm using doesn't have that explode text option??
    That is why I am using that Stick Font.

    Thanks Gwyn , Wendy, and everyone else on this forum. I'm afraid I would have sold that cnc machine by now if it weren't for all the help here !
    As it is now,, I am just scratching the surface of what the machine will do,, but I'm having lots of fun with it.Someone had said in an earlier thread "the cnc will become a hobby in its own" . They were right.

Similar Threads

  1. Hi from Houston. Im new and really look forward to interacting and learning.
    By thomasant in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 03:59 PM
  2. Learning Autocad
    By Crescent in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 09:35 AM
  3. Paper on PC-based simulation and learning released
    By NicD in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2007, 08:38 PM
  4. Learning the basics
    By mwcovey in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-27-2007, 12:57 AM
  5. CDU text
    By John Van Berkel in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 03:54 AM