Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Hi,

    i don't own the OC CDU right now, but if I buy it I have the intention to make it backlit.
    I read in the manual that its ready for backlight, but don't understand what OC means with this.
    Has someone done already a backlighting for the CDU? If yes, how? Can you send some pics please?
    Thanks for the help in advance.

    Markus

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Anderson/SBSP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil, Brazil
    Posts
    336
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Read to backlight means: the acrilic plates are read to pass light. I´m sorry my english is bad!! hehehe
    Anderson Roberto de Souza - Brazil / São Paulo
    Blog: www.737ngsim.com.br Twitter: @ARSouza

  3. #3
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Hi Markus,

    All of the OC panels are ready to be backlit. What this means is that you can place a suitable globe or LED at the rear of the panel and have the letters light up when viewed from the front. The process to achieve this is pretty much the same no matter whether its a CDU, MCP or ComNav radio etc. In fact I've just retrofitted backlighting to my OC MCP and written a tutorial to help other builders such as yourself. You can find it in the "Tutorial" section of Mycockpit. Although it takes you through backlighting the MCP, you can apply the same priniciple to the CDU. Experiment with different LED's to find which one gives enough light and work out how many you will need. The less the better as it requires less wiring.

    Good luck,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Hi Ken,

    thanks for the tip, i will look at it.
    Do you know if the 5 LEDS (OFST, MSG, DSPY, FAIL and to the EXEC key - described in the manual of the CDU) are already built in? If yes, how can i connect them to my USB Output board? in the manual they were only talking from the Master Card with connection to the 40 pin cable.

    Thanks,
    Markus

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Markus

    Not sure about the ready built FMC, however, in the FMC kit the leds for the lit functions are included. You need to run wires from your USB Output card to the appropriate pins on the 40 pin connector, as described in the manual. I soldered onto the back of the pcb 40 pin connector as per the attached link.

    http://www.737ng.co.uk/djb/opencockpits_fmc.pdf

    David

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Hello David,

    what Grahpic Card are you using.
    I thought the LCD is only 800*600 capable?
    Thanks,

    Markus

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Markus

    I thought the same as well. I have the FMC running off my laptop through the s-video connector and then a composite converter. The graphics chip is NVIDEA GeForce 8400M GS. I have the laptop screen and FMC screen set up as a combined worktop and the resolution for the psone screen is set at 1024 by 768! Not certain what is going on but it works!

    Regards

    David




    Quote Originally Posted by markusr View Post
    Hello David,

    what Grahpic Card are you using.
    I thought the LCD is only 800*600 capable?
    Thanks,

    Markus

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    39
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    Hello David,
    Maybe you can help me understand the FMC's connection to FS4? I have everything working with my flight sim, SIOC EFIS, GAUGES, KINGAIR GAUGES and so forth. But the FMC from "opencockpit" is connected to a another computer than the one from the FS4. It works, but the FS4 aircraft doesn't follow the programed path set forth during the flight. Numbers are moving within the FMC, it follows the path of the flight, it just doesn't control the plane.

    Q: Should I change files in FS4? Should have the FMC on the same MAIN COMPUTER? IS there a set of fles in the FMC I should program?

    Please help me to make this connection for the theFMC/ CDU.

    Thanks,

    Tommy

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    What FMC software are you using and how are the 2 PC connected together?

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    39
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Opencockpits CDU backlight

    To be truthful, I am not sure which software I am using because someone else put the software in. I believe it is Project Megenta. Connected with Widefs.
    Do I need to have installed PM software for the FMC from opencockpit to work with
    the FS4 planes?
    Again, it works, It just doesn't control the 737 in FS4.

    Thanks,

    Tommy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Finaly, the backlight for the MIP!!
    By Anderson/SBSP in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 06:33 PM
  2. Backlight to panels?
    By cnopicilin in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-11-2010, 01:58 AM
  3. White backlight?
    By Anderson/SBSP in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 09:16 PM
  4. Backlight Opencockpits MCP
    By Goldmember in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-09-2009, 05:41 AM
  5. how to backlight.
    By David Withers in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-01-2008, 01:38 PM