Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    I have 1 nvidia 512 8800gt (pcie) and 1 nvidia 8400gs(pci) on the one machine for my sim, using a 550 watt psu. Should these 2 cards work ok together or could i expect some conflict because 1 is pcie and one is pci..or any other reason?

    Im trouble shooting for a problem i posted earlier in the thread.

    Thanks
    Drewsta

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member ran56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    Hi,
    Should be no problem.
    I have on an old setup which has 1 pci-e and one pci vga card both ATI.
    Working well for the past 4 years now.

    In my current setup I have 2 PCI-E X16 slots and card running
    GF 9800GT and GTS 250, works great.

    Ran.
    Ran Finkels
    Former B763 Builder - FS9 Simvionics. LDS, FDS OC etc.

  3. #3
    New Member danut58's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    romania
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    i have 2 8800gt and 1 6800xt all pcie and work great.no problems.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member sacad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    syria
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    from my experience .. your pc may suffer a low frame rate specially when you change view
    if you considering use your machine into a desktop simulator you are on the right way (and for low costs)
    BUT if you want to put it in a cockpit configuration it would be better to make a cluster of 2 or more pc's this will far more efficient
    i hope this will help
    good luck

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    Can anyone advise me on:

    I have a dual graphics card and is thinking of using 1 output for gauges and then using a DH2GO on the other output for the visual (a 2 monitor outside view)....

    Or would it be better to purchase an inexpensive graphics card to run gauges on 1 screen and then use the dual graphics card for outside visual (which would save me purchasing a DH2GO).

    What would be better? By the way I have an ATI Radeon HD3650 card (not bad and does the job with good fps), what graphics card would be good for gauges?

    Any advice is much appreciated.

    Kind Regards.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member sacad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    syria
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    if your sim use one pc , then two gx card's is very wise choice ,and of course the strong one for the outside view

    now if your sim combine 2 pc's or more (i recommend it):
    it would be better to use the master pc for outside visual (enviroment)
    then clients for EFIS ( gueges /instrouments /annociators )
    why ?
    coz using cleints for enviroment view will slow the LAN connection + it's very natural for the lan connection to suck some of the visual performance .
    as i experienced changing view (outside view;like when you use the HAT of the joystick) wil be the main factor in making fps collapse !(and you have to enter gx sittings and exit to recall fps)
    in my sim im using the master pc for outside and pilot instuments
    and 1 client for ECAS and copilot station instuments
    in the future i might use one more client for FMGS

    ps: FSXPAND will manage cockpit visuals

    SAM....

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    When space is an issue, and you now have the expense of purchasing another PC then I think, one good pc with 2 decent cards may do the job!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  8. Thanks sacad thanked for this post
  9. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 2 graphics cards in the one machine.

    My sim seems to run fine on a single pc which is an intel core 2 duo e6600. However after a good session of flight sim when I restart the computer, Ive noticed it struggles to reboot. Sometimes even a blue screen of death comes up and it takes me forever to reboot it. But the frame rates are ok when it is running. Maybe a faster computer may stop the reboot problem?
    Drewsta

Similar Threads

  1. Running dual graphics cards help!
    By jonnydaz53 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2010, 10:55 AM
  2. Help Re: Graphics Cards....
    By Spoceto1003 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-19-2009, 11:26 AM
  3. 1 Pc with 2 Graphics cards...
    By Spoceto1003 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2009, 07:32 PM
  4. Inputs/output cards on master cards question
    By stabell in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2008, 06:25 AM
  5. Quad Graphics Cards
    By manhattan in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 10:08 AM