Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Hi guys,

    I have a question. I am looking at options for connecting my MIP to my Overhead. I need to run power from my pc powersupply, mounted on the MIP to the Overhead. I want to do several things:

    Power Supply on/off (green)
    Ground wire (black)

    5v+ (red)
    Ground (black)
    12v + (yellow)
    Ground (black)

    That's 6 wires. I know that I can use one ground for both the 12v and the 5v rail but I would prefer each to have it's own ground cable.

    I have been looking at what kinds of cable I can use, I will be connecting the cable to both the MIP and overhead with a 7pin DIN plug and chassis mount socket on both the MIP and the Overhead.

    I was thinking of using an old VGA cable as it has about 13 wires in it or, and my preference goes out to this one, a serial cable. Inside an old 25 pins serial/parallel cable there are 25 wires plus an unshielded ground cable. Can I pump 12v and 5v down a cable like this or is that asking for problems? I am not too up to speed on electronics and stuff so I'd rather ask a question screw up something.

    Thanks in advance for your input.

    Andrew.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??


  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Thank you Sean,

    I honestly did not think about looking at WikiP first. Well, that answers my question, up to v25+. That makes life a whole lot easier. And since I have 25 wires to play with I might use the other wires and switch my Sixpaxk and Caution lights from my overhead setup .... hmmm .... Building a cockpit is so much fun!!

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Andrew

    The key factor here is what current are you expecting to draw and what is the diameter of the wire. There are other factors such as voltage drop across long distances. If in doubt, and you have a meter, then measure your current drain. It might be surprising, particularly on the 5v rail. On my 12volt feed to the overhead, I use nearly 3 amps alone for backlighting. Also you should check the current rating of your connectors. This link will provide some help

    http://www.emrg.ca/dc_wiring.htm

    Regards

    David

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Andrew

    I have just seen your latest post. Please be careful here, with due respect to the link that Sean provided, the information re RE232 standards is related to largely digital signals/protocols. You must establish the likely current drain and then choose the cable - else it could get very hot indeed!

    Regards

    David

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie flatlandpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Netherlands, Zwolle
    Posts
    152
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    http://www.epanorama.net/documents/w...esistance.html

    fuserate of some cables:

    Cross- Overload
    sectional current
    area rating

    0.5mm˛ 3A
    0.75mm˛ 6A
    1mm˛ 10A
    1.25mm˛ 13A
    1.5mm˛ 16A

    using fuses to protect youre power supply and wiring, is a good thing.
    big currents in case of a short circuit over a thin wire is not (fire) save.

    the power lost (heating) in the cable P = I^2 * R
    When once you have tasted flight,
    you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Thanks for the information everyone...

    I need to det to grips with this stuff. Backlighting is not going to happen with Version of the Overhead so I don't have to worry about that at the moment.

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Quote Originally Posted by flatlandpilot View Post
    http://www.epanorama.net/documents/w...esistance.html

    fuserate of some cables:

    Cross- Overload
    sectional current
    area rating

    0.5mm˛ 3A
    0.75mm˛ 6A
    1mm˛ 10A
    1.25mm˛ 13A
    1.5mm˛ 16A

    using fuses to protect youre power supply and wiring, is a good thing.
    big currents in case of a short circuit over a thin wire is not (fire) save.

    the power lost (heating) in the cable P = I^2 * R
    Whilst I'm not desputing that all electrical circuits should be designed carefully, the above is aimed at mains voltages (220-240v AC). Your not going to get into too much trouble at 12v DC (other than continuous fault finding). You certainly won't catch fire.

    Having said that, the RS232 serial cable is probably not a good choice for drawing much current throught it. It will work, but I'm not sure how much you could run off it.

    Sean

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Quote Originally Posted by Sean Nixon View Post
    Whilst I'm not desputing that all electrical circuits should be designed carefully, the above is aimed at mains voltages (220-240v AC). Your not going to get into too much trouble at 12v DC (other than continuous fault finding). You certainly won't catch fire.
    Sean
    Try telling that to my wife! There is a big (in my wifes eyes) burnt section in our dining room carpet caused by an accidental short on a 5 volt supply from a pc - its not the voltage but the current that kills. Mind you, I should have used a fuse!!

    Regards

    David

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How much current/power though a specific cable??

    Quote Originally Posted by fordgt40 View Post
    Try telling that to my wife! There is a big (in my wifes eyes) burnt section in our dining room carpet caused by an accidental short on a 5 volt supply from a pc - its not the voltage but the current that kills. Mind you, I should have used a fuse!!

    Regards

    David
    LOL!

    Still, 5v DC is not going to kill you.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Non Specific cockpit.
    By flyinjake in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 10:12 PM
  2. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  3. Press for current HDG/CRS
    By Tomlin in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2008, 01:58 PM
  4. Led current calculation
    By cesarfsim in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-01-2008, 12:12 PM
  5. how to open windows on a specific spot on the screen..
    By esa1203 in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 02:17 PM