Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    World
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interfacing on-on toggle switch

    Hi,

    With regards to using a toggle switch with the master card, how easy is it to interface a on-on SPDT toggle switch.

    I'm guessing this problem applies to most permanently on contacts but what are the different methods on making sure repeat commands aren't sent by the switch (I.E. Does SIOC recognise only the change in state of a switch or will it continuously try and execute the state the switch is in?). I know that momentary pushbuttons aren't a problem but on a similar note, what if you wanted to use a locking pushbutton?

    Best regards,
    Marcus

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Interfacing on-on toggle switch

    Hi,

    SIOC maintains the state of the switch.

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    World
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Interfacing on-on toggle switch

    Thanks for the quick reply capetonian.

    When you say it maintains the state of the switch what does that means from a practical application. So if I my locking pushbutton was selected on in order to activate a key command or fsuipc macro for example, would sioc continuously try and execute the macro or would it only do it once?

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Interfacing on-on toggle switch

    SIOC should maintian the function. If I trn on a fuel pump that pump stays on. SIOC is a script which loops and checks the state of an input. I think it is more important that your software supports the single / multi press issue.

    If I run controlodor.exe (in the SIOC main folder, a program for testing the cards) then as soon as I short an input (ie make a connection between a ground terminal and one of the 9 switch terminals (mastercard inputs are grouped in groups of 10 with one terminal being a ground) then I see the input value (ie: -140- ) in the display window. THat stays where for as long as the switch is closed.

    I am using SIOC/ IOCP with MetaMarty's excellent 737 overhead software and I have no problems whatsoever with multiple key presses if I close a switch or push a pushbutton in and hold it pushed foe several seconds.

Similar Threads

  1. Need some advice on interfacing toggle switches
    By dcoker in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 11:26 PM
  2. Gps/nav1 toggle switch
    By renegade in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 12:51 PM
  3. Toggle switch caps
    By Westozy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 06-26-2007, 06:13 AM
  4. Toggle switch covers
    By Westozy in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 01:00 AM