Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Anyone using the SimTouch product yet?

    I came across this a few days ago but would like to know how well it really works. It is software and a touch screen to select a variety of screens from radio's to GPS to gear and autopilots. The video (search SimTouch) shows most of the functions. You are supposed to be able to use the Iphone, Garmin or any 5" to 12" touch screen. And at about $200 or so, it seems too good to be true. I don't necessarily want to build a full replica cockpit, but I sure would like to "Select" and "Turn" many features without breaking the bank.

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone using the SimTouch product yet?

    Or you can get normal touch screen.
    or few even.
    I don't think they would be good for knobs for example,but for swiches it would be perfect.
    search on you tube,there's a guy there with 7 inch touch screen,he drags his FMC on it.
    Looks great

  3. Thanks Billscpap thanked for this post
  4. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone using the SimTouch product yet?

    Thanks for the Reply. I'll check the You Tube site. Besides the marketing hype, I am curious of a "real world" user and experience.

  5. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada (New Brunswick)
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone using the SimTouch product yet?

    I'm finalizing my plans for my cockpit and have become interested in this app. Like you I have been unable to find an 'reviews' but have taken the leap and purchased a couple of touchscreen monitors. What I'd like to know is whether simtouch allows you to undock a specific screens (ie AP or radio etc) and move them to touchscreens or can you only use one screen at a time? Anyone have comments?

    If you'd like to exchange info PM me.

  6. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    3
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone using the SimTouch product yet?

    Disappointed with the product. Difficult setup (I already run 3 screens) and slowed FPS by about 5. Yes, it does work but navagiting between screens while flying final is somewhat distracting. Also, out of 16,000 claimed users, I am only the 2nd person to report a partial screen showing on the gauges screen. I have switched back to my normal Saitek radio, switch and autopilot panels and trying to find another use for this expensive touch screen. (The folks at Sim Touch were helpful but still couldn't correct the issue.)

    Happy Flying!

  7. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada (New Brunswick)
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Anyone using the SimTouch product yet?

    Bill

    Thanks for the feedback. Not sure what to do in this case. I understand that you can open the app three or four times and place different menu options on various touchscreens. Is this what you did? I am concerned about FPS.

    Bob

Similar Threads

  1. SimTouch Software
    By bgoodwin in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 10:58 PM
  2. New Saitek product
    By Paul G in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 09:45 AM
  3. New Panel Product From CH
    By Tim in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-19-2007, 09:22 AM

Tags for this Thread