Header OpenCockpits
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    WIN 7 and SSDs The TRIM Command

    I have recently upgraded a WIN 7 4GH FSX RAID System with 500Gbs of SSDs.
    Unbelievable blistering performance but currently expensive - belated christmas present!!!

    During tuning and optimisation experiments I discovered the following paper that might be of interest to those considering SSD RAID performance, and the use of the TRIM command. In particular note that the solution to the performance problem is not yet available for RAID arrays. This phenomenon might possibly effect some in the long term!

    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/sto...nce-and-trim/1

    This should not deter one from experimenting using SSDs as load times are indeed unbelievable!


    Bill.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    239
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WIN 7 and SSDs The TRIM Command

    Very interesting, what kind of performance gains? just in load times or anything else too?
    Thanks

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: WIN 7 and SSDs The TRIM Command

    I decided today to rebuild the system and abandon RAID0 in favour of a large single SSD drive!
    I began to notice miniscule degradation with the RAID0 configuration. The TRIM command works in this configuration (non RAID0) hence my decision to rebuild which might be helpful to others!

    WIN 7 load time was almost immediate and I have yet to put a figure on it. FSX whilst extremly fast exhibited creeping degradation which I later discovered to be the TRIM problem.
    Performance figures (not consistent) at this time would be misleading although very impressive.
    I should have some consistent performance figures when I have a stable enviornment and TRIM works.

    Bill.

Similar Threads

  1. SIOC Delay 'Command'
    By marcus_422 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2013, 04:42 PM
  2. Copy and Paste Command
    By Tim in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 04:10 PM
  3. PMDG 737 or 737 Pilot In Command
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 09:25 AM
  4. Keyboard to send Command
    By mimmonick in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2007, 11:16 AM