Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sioc / PM

  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sioc / PM

    Hi,

    May be a really stupid question but i have the full PM suite (GC/Systems/FMC) and I am looking to ditch my fsbus cards for IO and moving to IOCards but do I need to use SIOC if I have PM? Can't I just use the I/O software and will PM handle the control instead of SIOC???

    e.g. PM must handle whether the gear lights are illuminated etc. rather than me having to code it?

    Dave (fordgt40) got me thinking after an email!!!

    Cheers
    Mike

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sioc / PM

    Mike

    Re our earlier pm`s, apologies if I confused you! Indeed, I am sure that most avionics packages have the internal logic to turn on gear lights etc. The key issue here is how do you bridge the interface between the OC I/O cards and PM.

    Regards

    David

  3. Thanks mpl330 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sioc / PM

    Thanks David!

    So cant I just use the IOcard software to assign / read values from FSUIPC offsets rather than needing to use the scripting language of sioc?
    PM will handle the logic and assign values into fsuipc variables and then the IOCards standard software can read the fsuipc variables and vice versa???

    Cheers
    Mike

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sioc / PM

    Hi Mike

    I now understand - can be a bit slow at times!! Yes, I believe you can use the OC IOCard software to map FSUIPC offsets to your hardware. However, I have never used this low level I/O software as it is limited and has no logical functions. SIOC is a higher level script based programme which gives you the power to make up your own responses and logic flow when necessary, which was essential for me at that time. However, with PM you should not need it. If I was starting from scratch, I would recommend using SIOC rather than the IOCard software, but it really depends on how comfortable you are with using a script based programme. I suggest you read both sets of documentaion to help decide

    Regards

    David

  6. Thanks mpl330 thanked for this post
  7. #5
    75+ Posting Member HansJansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nuenen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sioc / PM

    Mike,

    Also I think (but then I may think wrong...) the IOCards software is no longer supported by OpenCockpits. The SIOC language is not really difficult to use; especially if you only want to connect switches and LEDs. Nico Kaan has numerous examples on his site (http://www.lekseecon.nl/); I suggest you take a look ther.

    Regards,
    Hans

  8. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sioc / PM

    Hi all,

    Ok will give sioc a go if I can download it - the links on the OC site all seem to be broken... Cant download v3.5 or the 3.6 update....
    Anyone got a live link?

    Cheers
    Mike

  9. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Sioc / PM

    Ignore that, I now have v3.7...

Similar Threads

  1. Help with SIOC please?
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-20-2009, 07:00 PM
  2. Where can I get SIOC, please?
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 06:10 PM
  3. SIOC Help
    By AlexJ in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2009, 11:00 AM
  4. SIOC for MIP?
    By HondaCop in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 08:48 AM
  5. N1 SET and SPD REF - SIOC
    By paoloj in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2008, 05:23 AM