Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Hello.

    I wonder if any one can help me?

    I have moved both my (Airbus) Cpt and FO PFD/ND onto one computer.

    Before I had them running on seperate computers runing in full screen mode.

    Now because I am running them the same computer, I have to run them within a window.

    I can turn off the blue windows frame by pressing 'W' and the blue frame and menu bar around each display disappears.

    However, the display now has a white thin frame around it. The desktop of the computer is black. I would like to know whether I can get rid of the white frame or at least change its colour to black?

    Regards,
    Darren Sugden

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Hi Darren,

    You can remove the white border by editing pfd.ini and setting NoFrame=On. It's in the Display section at the start of the file.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member Airhogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Signal Mountain, TN USA
    Posts
    53
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Is it possible to remove the white window frames from the regular "view" windows as well using a similar procedure?

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Quote Originally Posted by Airhogg View Post
    Is it possible to remove the white window frames from the regular "view" windows as well using a similar procedure?
    I'm not sure what you mean by the 'regular view' windows but that setting in PFD.INI works for all views.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Thanks, Ray, for the tip.
    I will have a look at that when I get home from work.
    Regards,
    Darren

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Unfortunately there is no 'NoFrame=' in the ini file. When I insert 'NoFrame=On' in the 'Display' section it makes no difference. In fact the next time I open the ini file, 'NoFrame=On' is no longer there.
    Regards,
    Darren

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Quote Originally Posted by Suggy View Post
    Unfortunately there is no 'NoFrame=' in the ini file. When I insert 'NoFrame=On' in the 'Display' section it makes no difference. In fact the next time I open the ini file, 'NoFrame=On' is no longer there.
    Regards,
    Darren
    How bizarre. I Googled it and found a link to the PFD.INI where I found this...

    PFD 330

    - changed STD annunciation
    - corrected problem with EGT display
    - added TAT to NG type EICAS
    - changed color of VOR2
    - sizing box can be removed with Crtl-W or PFD.INI parameter Noframe=On

    I don't have my FS PC turned on at present but I'll check it tomorrow. In the meantime check the version you have of PFD. It might be earlier than build 330.

    I've just noticed you have the Airbus software. Mine is the Boeing. That might be the reason. Probably best to drop a line to Enrico and ask if it's implemented for the Airbus suite.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Hi Ray !

    I think this is undocumented.
    First you use Ctrl-W to hide the window and then W on its own to hide the border.
    I am talking about the Boeing PFD. Not sure about the Airbus !!!

    TC

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Hi TC,

    That's useful to know, thanks.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: How to 'remove' white frame around the display?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Proudfoot View Post
    How bizarre. I Googled it and found a link to the PFD.INI where I found this...

    PFD 330

    - changed STD annunciation
    - corrected problem with EGT display
    - added TAT to NG type EICAS
    - changed color of VOR2
    - sizing box can be removed with Crtl-W or PFD.INI parameter Noframe=On

    I don't have my FS PC turned on at present but I'll check it tomorrow. In the meantime check the version you have of PFD. It might be earlier than build 330.

    I've just noticed you have the Airbus software. Mine is the Boeing. That might be the reason. Probably best to drop a line to Enrico and ask if it's implemented for the Airbus suite.
    Maybe this is what y'r looking for?

    [Display]

    Title=On
    Menu=Off
    WindowName=Project Magenta Glass Cockpit - Build 386
    Topmost=Off
    FSWindow=Off
    NoFrame=Off

    [OpenGL]

    Quality=Lo
    PolySmooth=Off
    BitmapSmooth=Off
    Font=Arial
    FontFactor= 1
    NavFontFactor= 1
    FontQuality= 0
    Benchmark=Off
    Rotate=No

    [Network]

    NetDir=\
    Type=b737.txt
    AircraftType=cdu

    [User]

    UseTimer=Off
    Overview=Off
    Framed=Off
    LockDisplays=Off
    FrameFile=frameng256.img


    Regards Pieter

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. tried and tested method of frame around ND/PFD display
    By jamcgee1978 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 05:06 PM
  2. How can I remove the ugly blue window frame from my FS
    By ibennett in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 08:28 PM
  3. B737 display frame thickness?
    By HondaCop in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 11:08 PM
  4. Frame around each display
    By thomaselser in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-05-2009, 10:22 AM
  5. 7-segment LED display WHITE - for Airbus FCU
    By Goose in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 05:46 AM