Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: T/C on ND

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    T/C on ND

    Hi Guys

    I have noticed on the PMDG, when im flying to a waypoint,
    T/C on green comes up on the route line.
    what does it mean and how did it appear on the ND.

    Also T/D also appears, but i dont know how i programmed them in.

    please helpp

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: T/C on ND

    T/C is predicted Top of Climb.

    T/D is predicted Top of Descent.

    The FMS is computing and indicating these based on current criteria and you'll notice they often move position as the criteria changes.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: T/C on ND

    thanks you very much.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: T/C on ND

    hi

    I've managed to input the T/C on the FMC, but cant get the T/D to display.
    When i look at my LEG page of FMC they are all same flight level and speed, even the destination.
    How do i program into the FMC when to decent to destination.

    thaks for you help

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: T/C on ND

    Did you program your destination in on the DEP/ARR page, rather than as part of your route?

    That closes the route, the FMC knows the altitude of the destination airfield, and computes the T/D point based on that.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: T/C on ND

    When the t/d comes up on the fmc
    does the plane decent by itself or do
    I have to decent it manually, if so what
    rate to decent and what altitude.

    Thanks alot for ur help.

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: T/C on ND

    When you approach the T/D with VNAV engaged, you should get a message from the FMC to check MCP altitude. This is because the FMC wont descend the aircraft below what is set on the MCP. Approaching your top of descent point you would normally ask ATC for clearance to descend. They'll give you a cleared flight level and you set this on the MCP and let VNAV control the descent. You may have to re-engage VNAV as it will go to altitude hold if you pass T/D before dialling in a new height.