Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    117
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Windows 7 64 bit

    is it possible to run FS9 in windows 7 64 bit ?
    Phil.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Windows 7 64 bit

    Quote Originally Posted by phil. View Post
    is it possible to run FS9 in windows 7 64 bit ?
    Phil.
    Yes. It runs very well. But install it into its own folder, such as C:\FS9. Don't accept the default in Program Files, because then you'll have difficulty with add-ons.

    Pete

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict spiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    303
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Windows 7 64 bit

    hello
    i am using win7 64bit and i am using fsx it works great better than xp i reallyt love win7
    it has an easy menu works very fast and cpu usage is much less keep in mined io have 4 g ram i was told that win7 needs at least 4 g
    i dont know if thats true but i have 4 g and i am very happy at work i have 3 pc 2 using xp and 1 using vista i am getting them upgraded all to win7 64bit so go ahead
    i think you will love win7
    regards spiro

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    117
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Windows 7 64 bit

    so i will have to make my own folder for FS9. when i will install addons will they automaticly be installed in that self made folder like you say C:\FS9 ?
    thanks
    Phil.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Windows 7 64 bit

    Quote Originally Posted by phil. View Post
    so i will have to make my own folder for FS9.
    Well, you don't need to make it -- FS9's installer will make it for you if it isn't already made, just as it does in any case. But I think you must choose the special or advanced install option (sorry, I don't recall what it is called now, it's been so long!), and CHANGE the folder it shows you it is going to use -- it'll be something like "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Flight Simulator 2004". Just replace all that with C:\FS9, or even put it on a different drive if your have one with enough space.

    when i will install addons will they automaticly be installed in that self made folder like you say C:\FS9 ?
    Most add-ons find where FS is by looking in the Registry, and FS's installer will make sure the Registry points to the right place, so, yes, add-ons will install with FS anywhere.

    Those few add-ons which don't find where FS is from the registry will ask you for its path in any case.

    Regards
    Pete

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Neil Hewitt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    211
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Windows 7 64 bit

    The driver problems with Win64 have been over-exaggerated. Yes, if you have old, 'specialist' (read: non-mainstream) or discontinued hardware you may have problems. Most of the major hardware vendors have 64-bit drivers for the majority of their kit. HP, for example, has 64-bit drivers for its entire currently selling printer range, as far as I can see. Display drivers are universally available in 64-bit. The one area I've found where it's a problem is video capture - Hauppauge hasn't even tried to produce 64-bit drivers for the WinTV range. So I have to run my Media Center box 32-bit. Otherwise it's 64-bit all the way, including all my FS machines. Never had a problem running any 32-bit software that wasn't dependent on a driver or low-level API access, and FS9 should be fine as all the DirectX support you need is there.

    IMHO, Win7 x64 is far and away the best OS Microsoft has ever made in terms of stability and bang for the buck (on current hardware). If Vista put you off upgrading from XP, now's the time

    NH
    Last edited by Neil Hewitt; 06-21-2010 at 07:11 PM. Reason: Grocer's apostrophe (oops!)

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Windows 7 64 bit

    Hello

    I'm waiting for my new PC and i plan also to install Win7 64bit with 6Gb of ram. In any case i want to have this pc "clean" from many programs, only FS-related will running there.

    For all the others, or for the old ones, i will go with virtualization technology, the today's solution for PCs & Servers. I plan to have at least on more Virtual PC running WinXP Pro, propably via free VmWare Player http://www.vmware.com/products/player/ and install there all image or video editing programs, downloaders, etc.
    For any extra virtual PC you can specify the amount of diks and memory usage, take backups and have them in you usb stick with you on the go.
    Today's PC have enough CPU power and Memory to handle more than virtual PCs !!
    I will post again the results, in a few days !

    Regards

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

Similar Threads

  1. Difference between Windows 7 RC and the Windows 7 RTM?
    By powelstag in forum Microsoft Windows 7
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 12:54 PM
  2. The best windows for fs
    By ibennett in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 02:44 PM
  3. Windows 7
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2009, 08:07 AM
  4. windows 7
    By gokhotit in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-29-2009, 01:49 AM
  5. Windows Vista vs. Windows XP: The duel
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:30 AM