Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Can't climb to FL360

    Hi guys

    I have been flying pmdg 747-400 lately
    everytime I try to climb to cruise alltitute
    of 36000 feet, once I get to 29000 the plane
    drops to 24000 feet and says max altitude.
    Error appears on the fmc.
    Can someone tell me how to fix the problem

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member ran56's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    88
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't climb to FL360

    Have you reinstalled your FS lately ?
    Make sure you haven't set the FS International settings to metres altitude and are trying to fly too high.

    If this isn't the case, check in VNAV page the max and opt FL for the current flight.

    Ran.
    Ran Finkels
    Former B763 Builder - FS9 Simvionics. LDS, FDS OC etc.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    40
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't climb to FL360

    It's not in metres. As for the vnav the
    optimal altitude is 36000 feet. Once I
    get to half of it the engines cut off and
    drops altitude then climb again and so on
    and on

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't climb to FL360

    There is probably a very simple explanation for this. I would give you the advise to ask over at avsim.com in the PMDG forum. They'll probably have you flying at FL360+ in a matter of a post or two
    Thanks,

    Boaz
    KSEA
    Lose money - ask me how.

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Can't climb to FL360

    just a guess but you may just be too heavy at the beginning of the flight

Similar Threads

  1. 737-800 - T/O to Climb
    By mounty in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 11:39 PM
  2. Cabin climb gauge at Pmsystem overhead panel
    By Jan737 in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 08:49 AM
  3. Boeing Climb Thrust!!!!!!!
    By ktroemer in forum PM Boing MCP
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 05:23 AM
  4. climb rate & speed
    By michael in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2007, 02:38 PM
  5. Long-Standing N1 Climb Battle
    By David Rabiner in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 02:38 PM