Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Rotated Monitor

  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotated Monitor

    Hello All,

    I am currently planning a new cockpit and it was my intention to use a monitor, rotated through ninety degrees, for one of the main dispays. However, I have recently tested this idea and have encountered a problem.

    In my present set-up, I have a Matrox Triplehead (analogue) with three nineteen inch monitors for the outside view, and a single twenty inch monitor for the panel display. My normal routine is to start FS9 in windowed mode, undock the panel window and then move it to the single monitor. I then switch to full screen mode, finally adjust the panel window as necessary and all is set.
    In order to try out the rotated monitor idea, I rotated the twenty inch monotor through ninety degrees and used the nvidia control panel to rotate the dispaly accordingly. So far, everything was looking pretty good. I then went through my normal start-up routine but when I switched to full screen mode, instead of the instrument panel there was a black rectangle.

    I have tried to find a solution but, so far, have had no success. I'm beginning to suspect that I may be trying to do something that is not possible. Do I need to go back to the drawing board(well, CAD system)?

    Regards to all

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    canton ga.
    Posts
    69
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotated Monitor

    HI
    I have the same problem, have tried to change my display to 768x1024 in the fsx cfg. but when FSX is started goes back to 1024x1280.....this gives me an out of range message......works ok in window mode but not full screen. looking for a fix for this..
    thanks
    percy

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotated Monitor

    Hi,

    Download the free programme called iRotate and give this a go.

    http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/irotate.shtm

    Kind Regards

    Bernie.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    canton ga.
    Posts
    69
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotated Monitor

    Bernie
    Thanks for the info , I can rotate but FSX does apply the correct resolution and when switching to full screen receive a monitor out of range message. Will work ok in windows even with in correct resolution...FSX does not list the correct resolution under display option. Trying to figure out how to get FSX to lis correct resolution.

    percy.

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotated Monitor

    Hello,

    did anybody found a solution for this problem ? I think of using a rotated 17 inch monitor for the upper Eicas display.

    For the start i want to put all instrument data from FSX directly to the monitors with a triple head to go digital. Later i will get additional computer to take care of the MFD etc,,,,,

    Regards
    Andy

Similar Threads

  1. 2nd Monitor Problems
    By AlexJ in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 09:45 PM
  2. Panel on Second Monitor
    By colt45 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 10:22 PM
  3. Monitor Help
    By AlexJ in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 07:40 AM
  4. Can a screen be rotated with a TH2G
    By Spoceto1003 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 08:35 PM
  5. For those that have disassembled a monitor...
    By Michael Carter in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 09:12 AM