Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    north of EMT
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    Hopefully this is a simple question. I think the potentiometer is dirty as the numbers stick when the knob is turning. I took the cover off, attached is picture of the potentiometer, but not sure what or where to spray.

    Any ideas appreciated!

    Greetings,
    Tom
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    Thats an encoder, not a pot big guy...prob best to blow with compressed air...hold off spraying with lube or anything.

    may have to replace if terminals are not sending properly for whatever reason,

    best of luck!
    www.flightfacsimile.com
    Select Boeing 737 Simulator Components from Australia

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    north of EMT
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    glad I didn't attempt to do anything! Will try the compressed air first... since the encoder is soldered into place, not sure I want to attempt replacement. Does anyone know if there are any shops in the US that could do this job?

    Tom

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    135
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    Just to help ya out with some info...( i might be telling you what you already know..sorry)...as you might have seen.... three pins at the rear where encoder is surface mounted to the aerosoft pcb. if you are game, you could do it yourself....just have to make sure you get an encoder that will have correct dimensions..or take it to somewhere to have it replaced, like you said.

    its not a big drama...might cost a few bucks though. totally do-able but.
    www.flightfacsimile.com
    Select Boeing 737 Simulator Components from Australia

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    north of EMT
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    Looks like compressed air didn't work. I've done soldering before, but the workmanship inside the box is nearly perfect, and don't want to risk it.... but no one cares whats on the inside, its whats on the outside that counts most

    It is a great unit, hope I can find replacement encoders somewhere.

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    Tom,
    Encoders come in many different types,both physically and electrical.Try and have a look and see if you can find any markings indicating maker/model number.This would help immensley.I have dismantled them before and cleaned them.
    Les

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    north of EMT
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    After reading a few posts about successfully getting encoders to work using electronic contact cleaner spray, I decided to give it a go prior to attempting an encoder replacement. I ended up using TV tuner spray and got it working!

    I didn't even remove the circuit board, just sprayed into the encoder and cleaned up residue after spraying. Even though I padded down the surrounding electronics with paper, the spray was messy. I hope there is no long term damage to other components from using this method. I suppose ideally you should remove the encoder, spray it down, wipe off and clean the encoder's exterior, then in re-solder it back in AFTER you have confirmed correct operation. Based on the apparent life span of the these encoders, one would need to do this every few years.

    My unit was purchased around 2002 for Aerowinx PS1. Both Speed and Heading bugs were faulty but fixed after spraying. The altitude bug was starting to stick as well, but not as badly. I suppose normal wear from having to dial in heading and speed changes to the nearest integer. In contrast the altitude bug gets dialed in at 100 FT increments requiring less turning therefore less wear on that particular encoder.

    Any comments about this are welcome, I would like to know if there is any downside of cleaning encoders this way.

    Lots of people here from (AU) "Down Under", I'll bet most of you are aware Hardy Heinlin's Aerowinx PS10 is coming out next month!

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    north of EMT
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Aerosoft Australia MCP 747 – heading bug dosen’t turn

    Just to let everyone know, almost 3 months have gone by, and my MCP is working flawlessly with PSX.

Similar Threads

  1. Aerosoft Australia 737-NG Avionics Suite
    By abrinson in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-26-2013, 08:47 AM
  2. Aerosoft Australia MCP B747
    By lipq2009 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-25-2011, 05:17 AM
  3. Aerosoft australia MCP - Offsets
    By markusr in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 05:17 PM