Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Approach Procedures

Didnt know where else to ask this so...

When approaching for landing at what times and distances do you

1. slow down - ie at blw 10000 you are restricted to 250kn. How far from the airport do you slow down to set up for finals. I know speeds are ac dependant and refer to V-speeds, but I am not sure when to use them. I think I tend to slow down too far away, but not sure

2. put gear down - what distance from AP?

any additional info would be appreciated as well
    Cheers
    Dave

75+ Posting Member

Re: Approach Procedures

Hi Dave,
    Let me preface my answer by saying I am no expert, and not a real world pilot! I'm sure this thread will get quite a few answers too.

I fly the A320 mostly. All these procedures are specific on the type of aircraft you fly. The way I fly my approach is based on the documents I found at www.smartcockpit.com. There are documents there to show the correct approach sequence for each aircraft. In my case, due to a lot of bad landings in the past, I approach below the glideslope at about 2500 (assuming no ATC) and when I am just below it I drop the gear. I use that wind resistance to assist in slowing the aircraft and maintaining my descent as more flaps are applied. I used to come in too high a lot, and this works for me.

As to when I drop the flaps.... Harder to say! The Airbus switches into Approach mode usually within 30 miles of the airport. Remember that descending AND slowing at the same time is difficult. You may miss either or both targets as a result. I would aim to be below 200 knots at 20 miles out, flaps 1 at about 15, flaps 2 at 10 (and hopefully on the glideslope around 2000 above), Flaps 3 and gear down at about 6 miles. Then full flaps.