Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hello All

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello All

    Hi im steve from sunny Norwich UK,

    Ive been simming for a few years now and have
    tinkered with multiple monitor set ups and am now looking to
    start small with my cockpit build learning as i go over the next few years

    Im not looking to do nothing as spectacular as some of the builds i have seen here yet,
    I just want to improve my simming experience and gradually step things up in time.

    One question as i had a go tonight but couldnt get this right,

    How do i on my no2 monitor display the pmdg pfd and nd only (nothing else)
    No 1 monitor will display the cockpit outside view.

    Regards

    steve

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hello All

    Hi Steve, welcome to MyCockpit.

    There are a few steps to get what you want.

    You need to edit the panel.cfg file for the PMDG aircraft you're using.

    You need to rename the panel background image so FS can't see it, hence won't load it.

    You need to undock your modified panel and drag it to your 2nd monitor.

    You'll find guidance at the Holy Grail for cockpit builders:

    http://www.737ng.co.uk/setup.htm

    Give me a shout if you get stuck, as I am using this setup.

    Sean

  3. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hello All

    Hi Steve, and another member from the UK. Great
    Which aircraft are you basing your flight simulator on, you look like you have an idea of the path you want to take, and we'll all be happy to help you out - myself included. I'll look forward to seeing the progress of your build. And remember pictures - everyone likes those

    Best Regards
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hello All

    Thanks for the welcome,

    I enjoy flying most aircraft from the default cessna on fsx with generationx photographic scenery.
    to the PMDG series on fs9.

    My build will be based on the 737ng, very simple to start with. I have some boeing 737ng half size posters from av training
    solutions which i will simply be placing onto a hardboard back panel, then placing 2nd monitor in a position so that i can display
    the pfd and nd by cutting out the posters pfd and nd,from there perhaps use fsxpand to display centre eicas,standby instruments,then perhaps the mcp pro or who knows ,
    when i get to this stage i will decide what to aim for next.

    I will for the time being be just utilising the poster for my panel whilst learning the trade before employing a good friend of mine for the odd beer or two
    to help with the real construction,but thats a while off yet i think.

    I have one main pc of a fairly high spec which i intend to use on its own at the moment with the main screen being a 22 inch and the second screen can be
    a 15 or 17 inch as i have a couple laying around doing nothing.I also have another pcof a lower spec but could be utilised at a later date if needed.

    @ Sean,
    Yep thats the site i was using but im obviously doing something wrong as i still end up with other items displayed on the main panel (not just the pfd and nd),
    ok i will try again and will post a pic of my screen and panelcfg results.

    Anyway thats the plan so far,simple enough but thats what im tryting to achieve at the moment a simple improvement to my simming.

    Regards

    steve

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job Sean Nixon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    EGNT
    Posts
    713
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hello All

    Open up the panel.cfg file of the aircraft you want to change (make a backup first).

    Scroll down a little way to the section that starts:

    [Window01] //PMDG_MAIN_PANEL

    A few lines further down, you'll see the gauges that are displayed. Delete all the ones except:

    gauge02=PMDG_737NG_Main!EFISDisplay, 150,318,450,450,PFD 1
    gauge03=PMDG_737NG_Main!EFISDisplay, 860,318,450,450,ND 1

    Save it and restart FS. That should be it.

    Note in the above lines, the 4 numbers seperated by commas tell FS where to place the gauge on the screen and how big, eg. my PFD is 150 pixels fom the left of the screen and 318 from the top and is 450 pixels square.

    In the same folder as the panel.cfg file is the bitmap named 737NG_Main_Background_1280.bmp

    Rename this so FS can't find it to stop it loading.

    Best of luck.

    Sean

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie BishBash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK EGSH
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hello All

    Thanks sean,

    Found the error,

    I had the pmdg 737-800 with winglets selected in fs9,,and was editing the 737-800 without winglets.

    Just now tried again and hey presto just the pfd and nd are displayed, I understand the mapping and resizing part i believe..
    So once again thank you very much, will keep you updated on a different thread with pics on how i progress.

    Kind Regards

    steve