Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Raptor disc

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    TWICKENHAM/LONDON
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Raptor disc

    Hi,
    fairly new here so learning fast !
    I have a top end system with THGo etc and i7 chip 2800 GTX .

    I have a lot of add on scenery and run the system pretty much up to speed. However I am looking for a little extra and am now addressing the H/Disk Samsung 103UJ.
    I am considering a Raptor H/D but don't know the following:

    1) Which one is suitable

    2) I have FSX on C:/FSX at present with all scenery files etc. What do I put on which disc ?

    Is it the main FSX folder on the old Samsung and all scenery and add ons on the raptor or ???

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Quote Originally Posted by SKYWARRIOR View Post
    Hi,
    fairly new here so learning fast !
    I have a top end system with THGo etc and i7 chip 2800 GTX .

    I have a lot of add on scenery and run the system pretty much up to speed. However I am looking for a little extra and am now addressing the H/Disk Samsung 103UJ.
    I am considering a Raptor H/D but don't know the following:

    1) Which one is suitable

    2) I have FSX on C:/FSX at present with all scenery files etc. What do I put on which disc ?

    Is it the main FSX folder on the old Samsung and all scenery and add ons on the raptor or ???
    Hiya Skywarrior.

    Many swear by the Raptors for added speed so that might get you a little quicker load times but really the main issue with FS is the CPU/RAM. Scenery is loaded at startup and on the run only when you fly through new areas so the load time from a Raptor or Solid State disc will aid at this time only.

    As for the scenery location, I would still keep it all in the one location but get a good payware defragger. I use Ultimate Defrag but others also use O&O to the same extent. This will increase your frame rates to a much greater extent at much lower cost than a Raptor or SS disk.

    But just my 2c worth.

    Ken/
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Quote Originally Posted by Kennair View Post
    As for the scenery location, I would still keep it all in the one location but get a good payware defragger. I use Ultimate Defrag but others also use O&O to the same extent. This will increase your frame rates to a much greater extent at much lower cost than a Raptor or SS disk.

    But just my 2c worth.

    Ken/
    Hello Ken,

    with Ultimate Defrag, what kind of settings you use for the defragmentation (Auto? or some special for FS?)

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    TWICKENHAM/LONDON
    Posts
    54
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Quote Originally Posted by oal331 View Post
    Hello Ken,

    with Ultimate Defrag, what kind of settings you use for the defragmentation (Auto? or some special for FS?)

    Eddie
    Eddie,
    I have been using Ultimate Defrag set to "High Performance"

    This seems to work for me unless I unaware of better settings.

    Regards

    David

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Thanks for reply,

    i also don't know other tips about it.

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  6. #6
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Guys, you will find amongst the tutorials on the Ulitmate Defrag website a number of suggested settings for various sitauation, one of which is Flightsim. Basically this entails putting Windows + your FSX folder on the outer edge of the disk and performing a High Performance defrag. All other files and folders go on the inner portion of the disk. As far as I know Ultimate Defrag is the only defrag program that allows you to select which files and folders can go on this outer, faster portion of the hard disk. Of course the above applies to a system running FS primarily and not also used as an office PC.

    Have a look and give it a go, but I found a 5-10% performance increase by using this alone.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Ken,

    if FS has another 80GB HDD with nothing else installed there, which directories you believe must add to High Performance area (Scenery, then aircrafts ?)

    Thanks

    Eddie
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [

  8. #8
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Eddie, just put the whole FSX folder on the outer edge (High Performance) so that any and all files are accessed at the highest speed. Also do this for the Windows folder on the C drive.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  9. Thanks oal331 thanked for this post
  10. #9
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Raptor disc

    Ken,

    thanks a lot, have a nice day !!
    Eddie Armaos
    Athens-Greece


    [