Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Projected gauges AND rotary

    Hi to all people,

    i've a little question: it is possible to build a mix simpit using a software to project gauges on a lcd monitor AND also have the rotary knob to adjust some gauges like altimeter, heading, vor...
    It would be and interesting mix between economic way to realize panel (i.e. lcd projected ones) and "manual" feeling adjusting the knobs.

    I think we have to consider the way to hide the knob (is it an encoder..?).

    These considerations after seeing a VRInsight product, I think to attach a pic.

    Thanking in advance,

    Marco, Italy
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member Steve1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    Hi

    Yes this is possible.

    You need-

    rotary encoders, google CTS288 2-bit binary, these work well (16 detent)
    Leo Bodnar has an interface card BU0836X, very easy to install and wire (he also sells encoders).

    Some MDF with holes cut in or eve better a laser cut sheet metal panel from a local fabrication company, you can sketch your design out on a free cad program

    FSUIPC from Peter Dowson for interfacing.
    WIDE FS if you wish to run gauges on another computer to MSFS.

    for the gauges-

    Google Project Magenta GAIFR gauges - the best, but quite expensive, however they do give you a registered copy of WideFS / FSUIPC
    or
    PEIX Software
    or
    FSXpand

    I am using Project magenta, with a 19" LCD monitor from EBAY for 30

    Good Luck.

    Steve

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    Hi Steve,

    thank you for your answer...
    Before choosing the software, my doubt is:
    how can i put the encoders on the mdf or alluminum panel if there is a monitor behind...? what's about the measures..?

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member Steve1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    Hi,

    The encoders are about 14mm deep and screw to your panel, so the body of the encoders sit between the main panel and the screen.

    This means that there will be a gap between the screen and the front panel the same as the VR Insight Pro pit picture you posted.

    I dont think this is a big problem because you will be sitting directly in front of the panel.

    you need to then make some gauge rings, to fit in the holes to finish between the gap. To do this Alex suggested using plastic party cups with a slight rim on top, and some black paint. This what I intend to do.

    Regards
    Steve.

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    You can sit your encoders into the panel if the wood is thick enough, just dig out a 4mm square hole into a 6mm instrument panel and sit the encoder in the hole, now just drill a small hole through the remaining 2mm to pass the encoder shaft through. Now your LCD monitor will sit 'NEARLY' flush against the panel with the encoder in place, just rememer to bend pins on encoder flat when your wire it.

    There will be a small gap!

    This is the only way unless your build a separate encoder panel specifically for OBS encoders only (ie ALT, AH)
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    14
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    Wowww! 2 answers in 2 minutes!

    Thankyou to Alex Jay, also....

    Now I can go to sleep very happy, because I know it's possibile to make this way!!

    But, as an italian proverb says..." between saying and doing, there's is the whole sea...!"
    Nearest english version may be "
    tra il dire e il fare c' di mezzo il mare (Proverbio) it's easier said than done "

    I'll keep all of you informed about my cockpit news..

    bye
    Marco

  7. #7
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    The best way in my view is to make an encoder panel in your radio stack as pictured, it looks neat and tidy and does the job nicely. You can assign what the heck you want to these encoders whether it be OBS knobs or just for free-assigning!





    http://simkits.com/product.php?prodid=554

    This is the simkits panel, but just make your own, (was for illustration purposes only!)

    Good luck and keep us posted!

    Thanks.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Steve1970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    134
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...name=CT3001-ND

    These encoders are just 10mm deep and available without mechanical detents.

    They should also be compatible with open cockpits card to support acceleration. As far as I know Leo Bodnars card does not have acceleration functionality.

    Acceleration means that when you turn the knob fast, the hdg bug for example, accelerates. Without acceleration you have to turn the encoders quite slowly and to displace the bug 180 degrees would take a long time, well quite long anyway.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    Another option is to use micro switches over the monitor and momentary bi-directional dials to the side of the monitor. Wire everything to a keyboard ic card and you have a panel for under $75 bucks. It may even look something like this.
    I'm still working on the full page stickers that will be the radio faceplate and such but everything works.
    John
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ontario
    Posts
    100
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Projected gauges AND rotary

    This is the type of set up I am working towards and have a couple of questions for the experts

    Steve1970 - are there knobs available for the rotary encoders you reference from Digikey?

    Doon - how do you get your gauges in the MIP to fill the entire lower monitor in your set up? Are you using stock gauges/panel from FS or an add on such as Project Magenta or FSXpand?

    Thanks guys, Dave
    Dave Kemp
    FS9-BU0836X-GoFlight 166-TH2GO-WideFS-FSUIPC-Opencockpits

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM
  2. Best width of projected image?
    By orwell84 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 07:59 PM
  3. Building a 45 Deg rotary from a standard 30 deg rotary ?
    By shafian in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2008, 06:57 PM
  4. What's the best projected image size using projectors?
    By Tomlin in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 06:48 PM
  5. eyepoints in projected views 737 real flight deck
    By steve diamond in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2005, 04:35 PM