Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Three monitors on a dual monitor setup?

    Here is my problem. I am looking for possible solutions.

    I am running two monitors, a 14" for gauges and a 10" for the PFD off of a seperate computer with an ATI 4850 dual output card. The software is FSExpand clients. Everything works fine when I get it up and running.

    The problem is in the up and running part. Because most of the 14" monitor is covered by an aluminum panel with holes and faux bezels for the gauges, I can't see the screen to start the FSClients or shut the computer down.

    My idea is to use a third monitor outside the cockpit through something like a LVM switch. However, the switch I have and dug out of the parts bin only works with two computers, not two monitors.

    Is there a relative inexpensive KVM switch that will allow me to switch between monitor outputs? A 15 min Google search came up empty.

    I do have a spare PCI card that I guess I could throw in the computer and hook a monitor to. Will that allow me to clone one of the screens?

    Any ideas?
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Three monitors on a dual monitor setup?

    Just use a VGA splitter cable:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-153-_-Product


    to clone what you are seeing on the 14 inch on to the 3rd monitor.



    Regards,
    Henry
    Level D 767
    FSX

  3. Thanks jmig thanked for this post
  4. #3
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Three monitors on a dual monitor setup?

    Thank you Henry for your solution. Now are you ready for a laugh.

    A couple of months ago, I got this catalog in for computer nick nacks and all sorts of parts. I ordered some things like, a box set of computer screws and standoffs, a couple of USB extensions, etc. They came in and I gave them to my wife to give back as Christmas presents.

    Christmas came, I forgot what I had ordered, open the box and exclaimed, "Oh, I had forgotten I ordered this." I then put them back in the box, stuck it on a shelf and went on to something else.

    I followered your link the Newegg and looked at the splitter cable. Mumbled something nasty under my breath about how I had just placed an order with them a few days ago and could have ordered this with everything else. Then it hit me.

    I went to the forgotten box, opened it and pulled out the VGA splitter cable I had ordered, "just in case" as a Christmas present.

    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

Similar Threads

  1. How to setup two monitors with a gap ??
    By ibennett in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 02:08 AM
  2. Dual monitor for VC View
    By Fairford in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 11:00 AM
  3. Dual headset setup
    By mattevans in forum Cockpit Sounds
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 10:40 AM
  4. Eyepoint issue with Dual Monitors
    By Martin Arant in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-08-2007, 08:14 AM
  5. Dual CDU Hardware setup
    By Brian in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 01:40 PM