Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    XPNDR - Transponder

    Hi all

    I am basically redesigning my NAV panels (drill/hole placements) and I was wondering, does anyone actually use the XPNDR panel? Is it worth shelling out for?

    It's ok to have a fake but is it actually used and where? Online flying?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lelystad netherlands
    Posts
    27
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    hi
    the transponder is indeed in use with online flying as a matter of fact you need to have one otherwise you will be disregarded on the network.
    but you can use the transponder that comes with the software from vatsim and IVAO
    regards john

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    Thanks John. Yes I imagined as much but I was wondering if it is really worth building one that works because I don't fly that much online - yet i guess - so i won't put too much effort into one LOL

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member sacad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    syria
    Posts
    25
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    fs in multi player does not use xponder in identifying traffic + in general xponder code is an essential part of clearance while in fs it has no effect at all ....
    in my sim ,,i did not build it

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie PDT 200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Thomasville, NC
    Posts
    160
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    You could always look at a GoFlight GF166. It can be your com radio and with the push of a button it can double as a transponder. Set your squawk code and then return to com mode and your done.
    Regards,
    Brian
    FS9 & FSX ERJ-145, E-170, E-190, PIC737, Archer, Arrow, GF-MCPPRO, EFIS, 4GF-P8, 4GFT8, 3GF-166, 3GF-RP48, GF-LGT, GF-ATC, GF-TQ6, 3 Projectors, 5 monitors 1 computer

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    Thanks sacad and PDT200. I am using FSBUS electronics so I will leave the XPNDR out of my build. For "aesthetics" it is nice to have but for cost it is really a waste

    I will leave it out hehe... if i need it a software solution will be enough.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    Quote Originally Posted by shearder View Post
    Thanks sacad and PDT200. I am using FSBUS electronics so I will leave the XPNDR out of my build. For "aesthetics" it is nice to have but for cost it is really a waste

    I will leave it out hehe... if i need it a software solution will be enough.
    Hi
    Wats the Difference between FSBUS and XPNDR???

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: XPNDR - Transponder

    Quote Originally Posted by jainscott View Post
    Hi
    Wats the Difference between FSBUS and XPNDR???
    FSBUS is a hardware based interface that allows inputs to MSFS. It is freely available in terms of designs and you build it yourself and then program how it works with your sim. This is particularly if you are building a cockpit or some hardware controls "i.e. joystick/inputs etc).

    SO for example my MCP is FSBUS based - i built the circuit boards and MCP itself - not shop bought.

    Ah but to answer your question the XPNDR is the Transponder which puts out a signal which gives your AC'c position

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 06:09 PM
  2. ATC Transponder for FSX
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 06:30 AM
  3. New transponder
    By gokhotit in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 01:28 PM