Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxford UK
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Interfacing Rotary knobs used to increase values

    I have just purchased a Precision Joystick Controller BU0836, it is useful as it has the ability to deal with switches, can I use his as is to increase Altitude, Speed etc.. using a rotary knob. If so what type. If not what do I have to do to make it work.

    My goal is to change figures turning a knob rather then presses on a button.

    I use the PMDG series aircraft.

    Any help appreciated

    Steven Higa form Oxford England

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Interfacing Rotary knobs used to increase values

    The best solution for increasing / decreasing values would be a rotary encoder. I don't think a BU0386 supports encoders (not 100% sure about this) - you need the BU0386X which supports up to 16 encoders.

    I think Ian found a way to get rotaries to act like encoders. Check out his pdf on the matter http://www.737ng.co.uk/simple%20encoder.pdf

    Lots more info at his site too http://www.737ng.co.uk/technical.htm
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    seattle
    Posts
    147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Interfacing Rotary knobs used to increase values

    You need the "encoders" driver file that Leo has on his site. It works with both X cards and nonX cards.

    Also the encoders on his site are inexpensive and work perfect.

    Andy

Similar Threads

  1. Building buttons and rotary knobs first time
    By baw536 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 04:41 AM
  2. Erratic values from rotary switch
    By luker22 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2010, 01:06 PM
  3. MD-80 seems to have a speed limit regardless of how much i increase thrust_scalar
    By andreas212 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 12:16 AM
  4. Hagstrom - Rotary knobs ?
    By David Rogers in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-11-2008, 04:29 AM
  5. Airbus vendors increase support to Chinese airlines
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 AM