10+ Posting Member
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Fokker G.1 project: many questions!

Hi,

For many years I have been working to build the fuselage of a Fokker G.1 aircraft. Now I have the idea to make the cockpit suitable to use for a flight simulator. I have no experience with sims at all so I have no idea what possibilities there are. I hope some of you are able to send me in the right direction.

1st, Before I decide how to rebuild the instruments, does it make much difference what software I use?

2nd, I should like that it is possible to use instruments without rebuilding them.
    I think that useing the temperature indicator wouldn't be so difficult, the ones I have are operated by a DC voltage, 0 degree is 0 V 350 degree is 3,5 V. But how about RPM indicators? The ones I have are operated by a 3 phase motor with dragcup, anyone experience useing such gauge in a sim?

3th, Has any one experience with building/using a vacuumsysteem to operate the altimeter, VSI and ASI? I would like such system because I have some gauge which have high historical value and I don't line to destroy them.

4th, anyone ever build a turning platform? Same here, I dont want to rebuild the genuine compass.

I know several people who have collected/build instrumenst panel from luftwaffe aircraft, would be great if these could be used for sims. Also in these cases, the instruments are to valuable to rebuild them to sim instruments. Some nice penals can be seen at: www.germanluftwaffe.com

More information about the G.1 and my cockpit can be seen at: www.fokker-g1.nl

Best regards,

Mathieu.

300+ Forum Addict

Re: Fokker G.1 project: many questions!

A key point when selecting sim software is its ability to provide data for use in drivng the instruments. Both MSFX and X-Plane can do this. Other applications have limited capability, some, none at all.