Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?

    Hi all,

    I live in Toronto, Canada and would like to know where I can buy rotary encoders with push-button functionality from.
    I need to use the switch for the heading selector, as well as push button for the heading SEL.

    I am not good at making the 12 pin rotary switch with momentary switch like many people have, that is why I need 1 that will do both the jobs.

    Thanks again for your help guys.

    Taufeeq

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member Jylhami's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    82
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?

    OpenCockpits in Spain sells those CT288 encoders witch are good and cost effective solution.

    Also i imagine that digikey and farnell sell these items overseas (near you)

    Mika

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?

    Hi,

    Did you check the FlightDeckSolutions web site? They have these type of switches as well.

    http://www.flightdecksolutions.com/hardware_new.php

    PS They're also located in Canada.

    I use those as well on the overhead panel for the FLT & LAND ALT.
    Geert
    -----------------------------------
    If it ain't a boeing, I'm not flying!
    http://flightsim737.dyndns.org:8081

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?

    I get mine from Sure Electronics which is an eBay shop. they come form China and they are cheap - and work great.

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?

    Thanks a lot guys! You all have given me way more options to find and shop from.

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    125
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Rotary encoder-where and what to buy?

    Hello Taufeeq.

    I've found Digikey.ca to be the most cost effective. Prices and shipping fees are good and include customs brokerage. Your package will be at you door next day, before lunch.

Similar Threads

  1. Rotary encoder question
    By HondaCop in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 04:16 PM
  2. Turning a Rotary encoder with a pushbutton into a dual rotary encoder
    By snizbatch in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 03:57 AM
  3. Dual Rotary Encoder
    By Algarve737NG in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 12:52 PM
  4. Rotary Encoder Question
    By elekwind in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 10:56 AM