Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire Dales
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Toggle switch/LEDs

    I want to use one of these switches: -

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=43005

    .. to control my U/C, through a BU0836x board.

    Can anyone tell me how to wire it in so the led glows when the U/C is down (ie switch is on)?

    I'm not sure, and don't want to blow the board experimenting!
    I will also be using some push button switched with LEDS- type not yet decided- for other functions in the future (APU is one that springs to mind), and would guess these would wire in in a similar fashion. Any recommendation as to what to use for these>


    Den

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Toggle switch/LEDs

    That is a tough one because the switch is rated at 12 volts and it may require 12 volts for the LED to work. BU0386X only supplies 5 volts.
    It is actually easier to have the switch and LED separate. Much easier to wire and work with. They are dirt cheap on Ebay - I have bought lots.
    Please note that the BU0386X is only an input card and not an output card. If you want lights/LED to come on you have to hard wire them to come on when a switch is in a certain position. Output cards actually control the lights/LED based on conditions within flight sim.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Toggle switch/LEDs

    Hi Den,
    I do believe I asked the Jedi Master, Ian Sisson, this exact question when I went up to visit him last year. For reasons I did not understand then (and have forgotten now) the answer was a definitive no.

    Sorry! I was annoyed too, as I thought they looked great and would have been a nice addition.

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Toggle switch/LEDs

    The BU0386X is an INput card not an OUTout. It is designed to take switch inputs and send them to MSFS to control MSFS functions.

    To light a LED you need an output card like the Opencockpits USB Output cards or the Master cards.
    http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...s-c-21_44.html

    I know other companies like Flightdeck make them but I use OC cards, along with the BU0386X.

    I hope this helps
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Bjarne Horsbøl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Posts
    84
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Toggle switch/LEDs

    It is right that Bodnars card is an input card.
    But it is possible to make a LED light when you switch an input to on.

    But ONLY with 5 volt


    Check here: http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?t=17836


    Regards
    Bjarne

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Toggle switch/LEDs

    hi den.........
    easiest (and cheapest) way for you is use a standard DPDT toggle with the connection to BU0836X on one side and 5v for the LED on the other. use a 330ohm diode in line to stop the LED from burning out.
    see: http://www.737ng.co.uk/switching.jpg
    switches here for under a quid.......
    http://www.rapidonline.com/Electroni...switches/72615
    or check out Sure Electronics on ebay.
    you can get your 5v from a computer power supply or any spare USB socket or from the BU0836X itself.
    any probs, email me and i'll draw it up for you......
    regards from wales and happy christmas..... ian
    Last edited by ian@737ng.co.uk; 12-16-2009 at 03:57 AM. Reason: forgot something :o))
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Yorkshire Dales
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Toggle switch/LEDs

    Thanks for all the replies guys. They have given me enough lines to follow. I'll come back when I've followed them up.

    Regards and Merry Christmas from Hull

    Den

Similar Threads

  1. Gps/nav1 toggle switch
    By renegade in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 12:51 PM
  2. Toggle switch confusion..
    By NNomad007 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-05-2008, 06:16 PM
  3. Toggle switch caps
    By Westozy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 06-26-2007, 06:13 AM
  4. Toggle switch covers
    By Westozy in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 01:00 AM