Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Help please?

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Help please?

    Hey guys.
    I have a CAD file for the 747-400 cockpit shell, kindly sent to me by Phil (Phil744), I want to use the drawing as a templete to cut out the ribs and spars to build the shell, usually I print it off on paper to scale and cut it out, use it as a template etc, but obviously I cant print print out an 11ft sheet of paper haha. Is there anyother way I can still do this acuratly?
    Thanks,
    Jake.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    Jake

    Do a search on the web for Poster Printing Programmes. They will print out large images on A4 sheets with registration lines for alignment

    David

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    That sounds like a good plan, so if I understand correctly, the full drawing is printed on many A4 sheets and then you put them together like a puzzle to for the main part?
    That sounds a good idea.
    Thankyou.
    Jake.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    402
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    Here's what you are looking for: PosterRazor

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    Hello again, the poster razor works, but I cant seem to get it on the right scale or size. It makes it smaller. See the software will only read a picture file, so if I export the drawing from AutoCAD 2010 to say a jpeg it doesnt work it changes the size. Is there anyway to do this but still keep the drawing on a 1:1 scale.
    Thankyou.
    Jake.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    Is there any poster print software that will read DXF Files?
    Jake.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie


    Perik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    NORWAY
    Posts
    229
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    Hello Jake

    Do you have access to CorelDraw?

    It's a nice poster option in Corel which I've used with
    success for printout of the 767 MIP and DXF-import is usually OK.
    Regards,
    Per-Erik
    www.hoddo.net

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    I do belive we have it at college, I used it alot at school for parts of my sim on the cnc laser cutter/engraver.

    I should be able to get access.
    So with corel you can print large drawings on to many A4 sheets?

    Thankyou
    Jake.
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    If you can create a .pdf from the drawing, you can get Acrobat to tile the pages. The maximum size Acrobat can handle is 200 inches x 200 inches.

    I have converted files for another member just to do this.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Help please?

    What about using a projector? beam the image onto the material you plan on cutting then trace round it, put a few reference measurments on the projected image, so long as you dont keystone or pin cussion the projected image that should be close enough?
    - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Philip Lambert

    747-400? nah probably 767 now, FS9, FDT simboards , dunnow about software yet

    www.simvionics.co.uk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast