Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PM and active sky

    I again,

    Did someone try ACTIVE SKY with Project Magenta ?

    Some minutes after the take off, when Active Sky load the again the weather, the aircraft speed going to 0.....

    I don't understand why ...

    Did someone have the same issue ?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Active Sky or any other weather software interacts with FS9 or FSX and not with Project Magenta as such.

    The "zero" speed can and does happen at times when the WX changes drastically , ie wind direction or speed there are settings in both Active SKy and FSUIPC to suppress this happening.

    What you need to bear in mind is that although your displays show a "zero" speed you are actually still moving and normally after about 60 or 90 seconds the situation resets it self and you are back in normal mode.

    yes its annoying but not really a problem as such..

    Rgds
    Peter

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    It doesn't work like this on my computer. The speed goes to 0, and after some minutes, the airplane goes down
    Even after 10 minutes, the speed is steel at 0.

    The only things I found, is to shut off the mcp, and everything go back...

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Does the MCP indicated airspeed also go to "0"??

    This is weird, ive never had this problem..
    Peter


    Quote Originally Posted by slider View Post
    It doesn't work like this on my computer. The speed goes to 0, and after some minutes, the airplane goes down
    Even after 10 minutes, the speed is steel at 0.

    The only things I found, is to shut off the mcp, and everything go back...

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Henderson, NV
    Posts
    98
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Are you flying in icing conditions (or near them) without all your anti-ice systems turned on? This can lead to very erratic airspeed indications (sudden drops to zero do happen) in FS due to the rudimentary way the simulation handles icing and its effects.
    Chris Kilroy
    737NG Builder - Henderson, NV USA

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Nielsen View Post
    Does the MCP indicated airspeed also go to "0"??
    No, the MCP indicate the correct speed

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Nielsen View Post
    Are you flying in icing conditions (or near them) without all your anti-ice systems turned on? This can lead to very erratic airspeed indications (sudden drops to zero do happen) in FS due to the rudimentary way the simulation handles icing and its effects.
    I use the real weather, and in, that true, I never try to turn on the anti-ice system (I don't use the overhead now). I will try this week end !

    Thanks for your ideas.

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    146
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    And PITOT HEAT.... this can also be the root of the problem..

    Good luck,
    Peter


    Quote Originally Posted by slider View Post
    No, the MCP indicate the correct speed



    I use the real weather, and in, that true, I never try to turn on the anti-ice system (I don't use the overhead now). I will try this week end !

    Thanks for your ideas.

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamburg / Germany
    Posts
    182
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Hi,

    yes you need to put on Anti Ice (Wing),
    actually this is not as in real, nut the pitot heats funktion is not correct implemented in FS.

    I figured out that Anti Ice Wing is the only button/function which prevents the pitot heat for icing, (and loosing the speed indication)

    Best regards
    Jan
    Visit my project on Facebook and become a fan www.facebook.de/homecockpit

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Quote Originally Posted by slider View Post
    Did someone try ACTIVE SKY with Project Magenta ?
    I've always used Active Sky with PM.

    Some minutes after the take off, when Active Sky load the again the weather, the aircraft speed going to 0.....
    Sounds like you forgot to switch on the Pitot Heat ("probe heat" on a Boeing airliner) and are getting the dynamic pressure dropping to zero because of icing.

    Pete

  10. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    32
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: PM and active sky

    Thanks for all your answers.

    That's true, I never use this "pitot heat" or "probe heat".
    How does it work ? I mean, do I need to use Project Magenta Overhead Panel ?
    How can I switch it to on ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Active Threads
    By scorpioflyer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 03:12 PM
  2. Active AIRAC Cycle on CDU
    By GDR in forum PM Boeing FMC/CDU
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2009, 08:53 AM
  3. active sky 2004
    By phil. in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 07:40 PM
  4. active robots here in the uk for phidgets,A++++++
    By steve diamond in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2006, 04:26 PM