Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Where to get gauge needles?

    Hello,
    I want to make my own 767 flaps gauge and i was wondering if anybody had any ideas on how to make or where to buy the needle?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    I would just use 'clock needles' just search ebay or look in your junk shop, alternatively just buy cheap 1 travel clocks and use the needles.

    Or-

    Make your own using thin white plasticard (1mm thick), just draw out your very own shape and cut it out, to be honest its no more than a stretched and very long triangle with a rounded end....

    I was given some simkits pointers to make my gauges and looking at them they are very easy to self reproduce....

    Give it ago, work out the length required, shape it to the desired pointer shape and glue onto a little grommet or small cut of tube so that you can insert it over your servo...

    Good luck!

  3. Thanks twisted8 thanked for this post
  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member cscotthendry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Russell Island Australia
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Another option fo DIY needles is the very thin and narrow strips of brass that K&S sell down at the hobby shops. It's fairly easy to shape the end to a point and drill a hole in it. Best of all, you can solder things to brass for the attachments.
    Regards: Scott Hendry
    www.scotthendry.com

  5. Thanks twisted8 thanked for this post
  6. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    388TH_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Medford, Oregon (USA)
    Posts
    246
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    And would i use a Stepper motor or a servo i know the differences between the two but as far as using it for a airspeed needle and flaps and so on i have no clue on witch one to use. do you guys know at all? O and thanks for the Cheaper needle buying ideas

  7. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    511
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Not sure what your needles look like, but if you ad some close-up photos of the real gauges in this thread, I might have some Simkits needles that are extra you can have for free...

    John

  8. #6
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Dont forget that there are 2 needles in the gauge, one for left and one for right, if it was me i would buy a gauge of ebay and rip it tp pieces

    Photo attached

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Matt Olieman; 12-05-2009 at 10:40 AM.
    - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Philip Lambert

    747-400? nah probably 767 now, FS9, FDT simboards , dunnow about software yet

    www.simvionics.co.uk

  9. Thanks twisted8, Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  10. #7
    75+ Posting Member cscotthendry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Russell Island Australia
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Quote Originally Posted by 388TH_A View Post
    And would i use a Stepper motor or a servo i know the differences between the two but as far as using it for a airspeed needle and flaps and so on i have no clue on witch one to use. do you guys know at all? O and thanks for the Cheaper needle buying ideas
    Use steppers where you want the pointer to go full circle and beyond. The drawback to steppers is that you have to have a home position sensor of some type.

    A servo will usually only turn through about 180 degrees maximum. This can be increased with some kind of gearing between the servo shaft and the pointer shaft, but unless you modifiy the servo, their travel is limited internally.
    Regards: Scott Hendry
    www.scotthendry.com

  11. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Thank you guys for all the suggestions and Phil for posting the picture! I didn't know it uses two needles but that seems really hard to build so I think I will stick to just one!


    Quote Originally Posted by jkcombs View Post
    Not sure what your needles look like, but if you ad some close-up photos of the real gauges in this thread, I might have some Simkits needles that are extra you can have for free...
    John
    That'd be great, what a kind offer, I will send you a PM!

  12. #9
    75+ Posting Member cscotthendry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Russell Island Australia
    Posts
    128
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Quote Originally Posted by twisted8 View Post
    Thank you guys for all the suggestions and Phil for posting the picture! I didn't know it uses two needles but that seems really hard to build so I think I will stick to just one!
    Don't get put off by concentric pointers. You can do it easily with the little brass tubes that you buy in hobby stores. The sizes of those tubes are made so that each size fits nicely inside the next larger size. I have some concentric pointers in my engine gauges.
    http://home.exetel.com.au/flightsim/Engine_Gauges.htm
    Regards: Scott Hendry
    www.scotthendry.com

  13. Thanks 388TH_A thanked for this post
  14. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie


    388TH_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Medford, Oregon (USA)
    Posts
    246
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Where to get gauge needles?

    Wow thanks for the link and answers i now have a better understanding on how to make a gauge. I have never really wanted to make one untill now. mostly because i was thinking that it would be REALLY hard to do. But looks really easy. Think i might tackle this sooner then i was thinking. And for this GREAT link in there per say better instructions to help me out. or where can i go to learn more about this? Also the Stepper motors i can go to the hobby store and get them. And then i wouldnt need and thing to big right? Just something Strong enough to move the gear for the needle. Vs trying to buy a really expensive one that is rated to move a RC something that weighs a lot. if that makes since. Pretty much i only need a stepper motor that is rated really small and it would work just fine for me then? that way if i get a small rated Motor it should cost less right? what kind of motors would you guys go with or doesn't matter?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CNC results, Main Panel Du and Flapgauge 2 needles
    By Wendy in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 08:46 AM
  2. Simple Gauge
    By AlexJ in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 06:48 AM
  3. gauge needles
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 11:16 AM
  4. gauge enquiry
    By silhouette_flyer in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2007, 04:37 AM