Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    387
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wiring a DPDT, Center ON switch

    I ordered some DPDT Center-ON switched with the idea that I could have three unique instances of ON/ON/ON with such a switch. The idea was to use them for switches like the Engine Start Switch and IRS Switches where you have something like LEFT/BOTH/ON.

    The Switches have 6 poles, but I have honestly no idea how to wire them, a few web tutorials have me convinced that I ordered the wrong kind of switch.

    How have you guys dealt with this or how should I wire a switch to do the above?

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    220
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring a DPDT, Center ON switch

    What hardware are you using? are you sure it's ON/ON/ON and not ON/OFF/ON?
    Ive done exactly that but with a ON/OFF/ON switch

    1 end to input 1, center is ground, 3rd point goes to input 2.
    I use open cockpits hardware and program with SOIC. I have Option 1, Option 2 and if the switch is off then select option 3.

    Basically is all in the coding not in the wiring for what you want to do. 2 inputs with 3 functions.

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    387
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring a DPDT, Center ON switch

    Hi,

    I too have OC cards.

    I am positive that they are ON/ON/ON switches, ...
    But I am not sure that I understand what you mean, imaginf if your switch is illustrated by the following numbers being the terminals:

    (1) (2) (3)

    (4) (5) (6)

    How have you wired the switch?

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    387
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring a DPDT, Center ON switch

    .. just to add to my frustrations, .. I am nowhere near SIOC programming yet, ..

    But I can imagine that I could use a software trick to bypass my mechanical problem,

    Lets say I set a variable to indicate both starters are on:

    Start=0

    and then in the SIOC code use two new variables with both the left and right ON / ON that way I could 'tell' the Sim that by default the starters are both on.

    Or Do I honestly have absolutly no idea what I am talking about?

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    220
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wiring a DPDT, Center ON switch

    Edit: I think you'd be better off with a rotary switch. The benefit of an ON/OFF/ON switch is that you can have 3 controls with 2 inputs diagrammatically. the ON/ON/ON switch seems complex to wire and offers a very small benefit.


    Since it's really 3 separate inputs it would be easier to code. one variable for each input as if it was 3 independent switches.

    I believe you would set all the variables to 0 first.
    Then inside each input {} set your selected value to 1 and the rest to 0


    Var 0228, name opt1, Value 0

    Var 0229, name opt2, Value 0

    Var 0230, name opt3, Value 0


    Var 1222, name op1selected, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 26, Type I
    {
    &opt1= 1
    &opt2 = 0
    &opt3 = 0
    }

    Var 1223, name op2selected, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 27, Type I
    {
    &opt1= 0
    &opt2 = 1
    &opt3 = 0
    }

    Var 1224, name op3selected, Link IOCARD_SW, Input 28, Type I
    {
    &opt1= 0
    &opt2 = 0
    &opt3 = 1
    }

    You might not even need all this and just link the 3 inputs directly since your switch kind of works the same as this:
    http://www.lekseecon.nl/howto.html#rotary_switch

Similar Threads

  1. Rocker switch & LED wiring
    By NCW in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 05:15 AM
  2. Wiring a switch with a LED in it....
    By David Rogers in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12-31-2007, 12:40 PM
  3. DPDT switch interfacing visual guide for Learjet 45
    By Tomlin in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 10:42 AM
  4. [LOGIC] Center logic 0 Three position toggle switch
    By null null in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 04:42 PM