Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    I always fly with Radar Contact rather than online. One of the requirement of RC is to be at a certain altitude 40 miles from the destination airport.

    It's not always easy to determine this distance and add a lat/lon fix with a altitude restriction so I'm wondering if a feature in the CDU can help. If I press FIX and enter the ICAO of the arrival airport and then enter /40 in the next LSK a circle is drawn around that airport.

    Is it possible to add a waypoint to the CDU that lies at the intersection of the 40 mile circle and my current heading? I've heard it may be possible but can't work out how to enter one.

    Thanks.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Proudfoot View Post
    Is it possible to add a waypoint to the CDU that lies at the intersection of the 40 mile circle and my current heading? I've heard it may be possible but can't work out how to enter one.
    According to the Bill Bulfer guide (don't you have one, I thought I gave you my old one?), on the FIX page, once you've done what you said and got the circle drawn, you should be able to place the fix in the scratchpad (the bottom line) by clicking on the FIX line's LSK (probably LSK2) -- it'll look something like XXXXnnn/40 where XXXX is the fix (destination airport?), nnn is the radial to your route intersection, and of course 40 is your radius.

    Then go to the legs page and insert it in the normal way. The name should change to XXXnn (XXX being a possibly abbreviated fix name, and nn being 01 for the first temporary fix based on it, 02 for the second, and so on.

    In Bulfer it is called "Distance Entry -- In route" and is explained in the FIX section (page 146 in my copy).

    Now that might be what we tried in PM's CDU when you were here. I don't remember. It should work -- if it doesn't, please do write to PM Support and ask them to add it!

    Best Regards

    Pete

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Hi Pete,

    Yes, I have the Bulfer Guide but I can't find anything that would do what we want. There's no entry in the Index for 'FIX' and looking at the user-defined waypoints none cover the requirement. I remember what we tried a couple of weeks ago and tried that but to no avail. It seems the standard CDU cannot use airport IDs as a fix.

    It looks like a request to Enrico is the only way to get this implemented. I'll drop him a line and hopefully if he's not too busy he can do something for us.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member 767300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wexford Ireland
    Posts
    148
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Hi Ray,

    Perhaps select a VOR at the airport into the fix using Petes method above. I use the PBD(Place Bearing Distance) from Bill Bulfers guide. Page 19 on mine.

    Regards

    James

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Proudfoot View Post
    Yes, I have the Bulfer Guide but I can't find anything that would do what we want. There's no entry in the Index for 'FIX'
    Correct. none in my "Index" either. But FIX is actually a button on the FMC and a complete facility, meriting and described in a whole chapter in Bulfer -- it appears in the Contents, not the Index, as "FIX INFO". If you can't find it in the Contents either, then I can only think you are looking in the wrong book. it's the Bulfer book for the FMC, not the 737 Cockpit companion.

    Note that every page in the FIX INFO chapter has FIX INFO printed in bold at the top, so if you can't find the Contents you can at leasdt scan the tops of the pages -- its all about half way through, maybe a little more.

    In the chapter called "FIX INFO" its on the second page in my copy -- entitled, as I said "DISTANCE ENTRY - IN ROUTE".

    ... and looking at the user-defined waypoints none cover the requirement. I remember what we tried a couple of weeks ago and tried that but to no avail. It seems the standard CDU cannot use airport IDs as a fix.
    But it draws the circle, so it must be able to.

    I tried again today. It did produce a fix, and I could transfer it to the plan -- but it was 2,900 nm away!

    I think that's what happened when we tried it last time. Lookslike a bug in PM's MCP, it is probably getting Lat/Lon at 0, 0.

    It looks like a request to Enrico is the only way to get this implemented. I'll drop him a line and hopefully if he's not too busy he can do something for us.
    It appears to be an outright BUG rather than omission. I'll write to him too.

    Pete

  6. Thanks Ray Proudfoot thanked for this post
  7. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Hi Pete,

    Thanks for confirming it seems to be placing the intersection at Lat 0, Lon 0. When I tried it it did put an entry in the Legs page but I didn't suss out it pointed to 0/0.

    Hi James,

    That system is fine where there is a VOR on the field but quite often there isn't. It seems the airport fix should work but is broken. Hopefully Enrico can fix it soon.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Proudfoot View Post
    That system is fine where there is a VOR on the field but quite often there isn't. It seems the airport fix should work but is broken.
    So are you saying the exact same process works for a VOR but not an airport? I've not tried it, but it seems odd that there's a difference in the PM CDU like that -- after all it must reference the airport's position to do the circle, just as it does the VOR.

    Pete

  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Dowson View Post
    So are you saying the exact same process works for a VOR but not an airport? I've not tried it, but it seems odd that there's a difference in the PM CDU like that -- after all it must reference the airport's position to do the circle, just as it does the VOR.

    Pete
    No, I'm doing what programmers should never do - assume. I'll try it over the weekend but you might beat me to it.
    Ray
    3 miles east of EGCC - home to British Airways Concorde 'Alpha Charlie'

  10. #9
    Forum Moderator JWS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    490
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Ray,

    any news on this (or has it been fixed already)?

    JWS

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Adding a 40 mile fix from arrival airport as a waypoint

    Quote Originally Posted by JWS View Post
    any news on this (or has it been fixed already)?
    Enrico fixed it straight away. It's okay in all the recent releases from PM.

    Regards
    Pete

  12. Thanks JWS thanked for this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. adding stations
    By BlackWidow in forum FSX Aircraft Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2011, 11:04 PM
  2. NAV & COM freqs change after passing a waypoint...
    By Nick1150 in forum PM Boeing FMC/CDU
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 07:03 PM
  3. waypoint not shown
    By pdpo in forum PM Airbus MCDU
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 06:34 AM
  4. Your Departure and Arrival 'norms'
    By Tomlin in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-31-2007, 07:13 PM
  5. CDU Inflight arrival runway change weird!
    By dcutugno in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 12:13 PM