Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

Vatsim and online flying

I installed squawkbox and joined vatsim, as a novice pilot i decided to just sit at a parking gate at manchester and listen to the atc and pilots as recommended by vatsim pilot guide(?)

Wow! how daunting is that for a inexperienced pilot, I dont think im quite ready The pilots and controllers sound so real and professional, i just think i'll make a complete a**e of myself lol.

In fs2004 is online flying the same as offline? like can i still use progressive taxi as it helps me a lot especially at unfamiliar airports?
    Other than that im quite excited about being instructed by real human beings, albeit like a bag of nerves

75+ Posting Member

Re: Vatsim and online flying

Quote Originally Posted by Steve A View Post
    i just think i'll make a complete a**e of myself
    You most likely will, but so did the rest of us. I'll share my story with you to illustrate how I completely blew it on my first flight. Living in Denmark at the time, I decided to fly from EKCH to EGLL -- a nice short flight. In those days, I was flying Level-D's 767 for realism. I had done this so many times before.

Anyway, I get it all fired up and I talk to Ground in EKCH. I was, like you, totally overwhelmed with everything going on and I for the first time in my life really understood why there are two pilots in the cockpit. Anyway, clearances received, I taxied out to the runway, and was quickly given the permission to take off. That done, I had to switch frequencies just after take off, and that is when the seed of my undoing was planted -- obviously, I did not know this yet.