Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wire length for Bodnars BU0836X card

    Just a quickie, how long can the wires be from the switch to the BUO836x card? Is there a maximum length?

    Thanks
    Drewsta

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wire length for Bodnars BU0836X card

    hi drewsta.......
    as long as you stay clear of mains power leads or noisy environments, there is no reason why you can't run 5mtrs. i have all my overhead running on two bodnar cards with no issues at all. the cable run is probably 4mtrs.
    remember the switch inputs only make a continuity circuit, so if the continuity is kept clean from outside influences, i dont see any reason why you can't use this type of length.
    ideally for long runs, it would be a good idea to use shielded cable.
    again for your information, i had some issues using long runs of ribbon cable. fine if they are 1 (ish) metre long, but anything over that, the cable picked up electrical noise and i got occasional erroneous switching.
    hope that helped you out....
    have a great day ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  3. Thanks Drewsta, wannabeaflyer thanked for this post
  4. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Drewsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    249
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Wire length for Bodnars BU0836X card

    Thanks Ian, good to know! I would be running only up to 2 meters maximum.

    Happy flying
    Drewsta

Similar Threads

  1. What rotary encoder shaft length is the best for you? Poll...
    By Leo Bodnar in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 05:44 AM
  2. Question on using PFC console with Bodnars card
    By denialS in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 07:10 PM
  3. C172 Parking Brake Length
    By AK Mongo in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 03:07 PM
  4. Leo Bodnar BU0836X card inquiry
    By visualchaosfx in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 09:15 PM
  5. Help needed re: BU0836X card and FSUIPC setup............Please
    By Spoceto1003 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-31-2010, 04:37 PM