Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX

    I'm new to this so apologies for what I hope is a dumb question.
    Using FSX OC MCP737 and Wilco737 PIC. Yes I've read enough to know that combination is problematic but to start I'm only after simplistic functions I hope I can get to work.

    The MCP works as it should with default 737, so I have things basically working.

    Better than that much of the MCP works with the Wilco737 , readouts and rotary switches for course, IAS, Heading and altitude and the AP master switch seem to work at least in the MCP > FSX direction.

    But I'm stuck on the toggle switches eg HDG SEL SPEED N1 etc.
    I have assigned in the Wilco737 setup utility keypresses for these.

    If we just talk about just 2, say HDG SEL and LVL CHG what I don't understand is how I get the MCP to talk to FS. Say I have Ctrl+H as the keypress for HDG SEL in the Wilco737 config utility, how do I get the MCP to send Ctrl+H to FSX when I press the HDG SEL toggle on the MCP. Same for LVL CHG really which I have as Ctrl+I.

    I think I understand FSUIPC is involved with this, but not much more than that, and I have the Registered version latest ver4.53

    So I'm not after sophisticated functionality (yet) just how to get a MCP button press interpreted as a keypress in FS.

    TIA
    John Knox

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX

    Use FSUIPC. Go to the button & switches tab. Press the button / switch you want to assign, then either select a function from the list or input the key press(es) you want to send to FSX. It is just that simple!
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX

    This is where FSUIPC comes in. You can program your switches, buttons and rotaries through FSUIPC using the "Buttons/Switches" screen. For example if you want to use CNTL+H for heading then you press the Heading button and it will show up[ on the screen. Then you enter the keystroke combination to be sent when you press that button.

    There is some basic documentation that comes with FSUIPC which explains how to "program" switches.

    Hope this helps.

    Rob

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX

    Hmm I'm missing something here.
    When I go to the 'Buttons/Switches' page, I can only work with my joystick buttons. If I press MCP buttons I don't see any response in FSUIPC

    It's like FSUIPC does not know the Opencockpits MCP is there.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MCP 737 Toggle switches and keypress in FSX

    I didn't realize you were using an Opencockpits MCP. I suggest you contact them regarding programming keypresses - they use a slightly different process.

    Rob

Similar Threads

  1. toggle switches to fs9
    By smartarze in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 05:43 PM
  2. Ebay Toggle Switches?
    By autocadplease in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 05:37 PM
  3. Toggle Switches
    By colaboy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-08-2008, 07:40 AM
  4. Toggle switches to momentary switches?
    By Patrik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 10:58 AM
  5. Latching toggle switches
    By Westozy in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 07:24 PM