Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Flap gauge won't work

    Hello,

    I've just bought an OC flap gauge and the USB Servo Card.
    It is quite some time that I've worked with SIOC but it won't work.
    Here are my questions:

    Do I need a 5 Volt power source on the USB card to feed the gauge?
    I've put my device number in the sioc.ini file MASTER=0,4,2,115
    And also for USBServos=0,115
    I've used flaps.txt file, found on this forum, and converted with config_sioc to flaps.ssi

    I'm using the Iocards USB test program.
    I've connected the red cable on number 1 position into Servo 1.
    The USB Servo LED is working and the device number is showing.
    If I move the slider and click send there is no responce.
    Can anyone help??

    Thanks a lot.

    Regards,

    Leo

  2. #2
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flap gauge won't work

    Hello Leo,

    This is Leo!!!
    I've connect the servo card with a 5 Volt power supply and it works.....the other way around. If I test the gauge with the IOcards_test program value 0 gives Flaps full and value 1023 gives Flaps up. The same with SIOC in FS9.
    I've send a message to belgianguy, he is on the forum too, and he knows the problem. But if anyone has more suggestions please leave a message.

    Kind regards,

    Leo

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Body in Netherlands, Hart in the Fairest Cape!
    Posts
    387
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flap gauge won't work

    I have exactly the same problem. I actually burned out my first servo

    I have to reinstall everything and give it another go ...... just building confidence.... and waiting till the FS weekend to pick up a new servo from Open Cockpits.

    I'm in Almere btw.

  4. #4
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    261
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flap gauge won't work

    Guys,

    Let me also join the bandwagon. Just that I bought the gauges and I am absolutely clueless on what to do. I need help and help from basics as I seem to have zero knowledge on this and material I find on opencockpit website is something I am unable to understand.

    If you guys can tell me from the start (yeah.....spoon feed me )what to do. I have almost given up on opencockpit guage.
    Regards
    Vybhav


  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member Carlos Corona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Querétaro, Mexico
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flap gauge won't work

    Hi Leo

    I also had the same problem ... as you say if the flaps up gives value above 1023, it settled by giving values to the contrary, note that value corresponds to the degrees of flaps and invert each value for flaps up has 1023 value one by one to flaps full to value 0

    try my code:

    // *****************************************************************************
    // * Config_SIOC ver 3.5 - By Manolo Vélez - www.opencockpits.com
    // *****************************************************************************
    // * FileName : flaps.txt
    // * Date : 21/05/2009



    Var 0000, Value 0
    {
    &LE_EXT_LED = 0
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }

    Var 0003, name FLAPSERVO, Link USB_SERVOS, Output 1, PosL 0, PosC 511, PosR 1023

    Var 0095, name LE_EXT_LED, Link IOCARD_OUT, Output 17

    Var 0096, name LE_TRANS_LED, Link IOCARD_OUT, Output 19

    Var 0099, name FLAPS_IN, Link FSUIPC_IN, Offset $0BE0, Length 4
    {
    L0 = &FLAPS_IN
    L0 = ABS L0
    IF L0 = 0
    {
    &LE_EXT_LED = 0
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    ELSE
    {
    L1 = 0
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 1
    IF L0 = 409
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 819
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 2047
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 4095
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 6143
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 10239
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 12287
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    IF L0 = 16383
    {
    L1 = 1
    &LE_TRANS_LED = 0
    }
    &LE_EXT_LED = L1
    }
    L2 = L0
    C0 = L0 >= 0
    C1 = L0 <= 409
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 0 // between 0 and 1
    &x2 = 409
    &y1 = 1023
    &y2 = 903
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 409
    C1 = L0 <= 819
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 409
    &x2 = 819
    &y1 = 903
    &y2 = 753 // between 1 and 2
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 819
    C1 = L0 <= 2047
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 819
    &x2 = 2047
    &y1 = 753
    &y2 = 623 // between 2 and 5
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 2047
    C1 = L0 <= 4095
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 2047
    &x2 = 4095
    &y1 = 623
    &y2 = 480 // between 5 and 10
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 4095
    C1 = L0 <= 6143
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 4095
    &x2 = 6143
    &y1 = 480
    &y2 = 370 // between 10 and 15
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 6143
    C1 = L0 <= 10239
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 6143
    &x2 = 10239
    &y1 = 370
    &y2 = 300 // between 15 and 25
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 10239
    C1 = L0 <= 12287
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 10239
    &x2 = 12287
    &y1 = 300
    &y2 = 200 // between 25 and 30
    }
    C0 = L0 >= 12287
    C1 = L0 <= 16383
    IF C0 AND C1
    {
    &x1 = 12287
    &x2 = 16383
    &y1 = 200
    &y2 = 140 // between 30 and 40
    }
    &dy21 = &y2 - &y1
    &dx21 = &x2 - &x1
    &dx = L0 - &x1
    &dy = &dy21 * &dx
    &dy = &dy / &dx21
    L1 = &y1 + &dy
    &FLAPSERVO = L1
    }

    Var 0086, name dy

    Var 0087, name dx21

    Var 0088, name dy21

    Var 0089, name dx

    Var 0090, name x1

    Var 0091, name x2

    Var 0092, name y1

    Var 0093, name y2



    P.D. In my code dont have 0 for flaps up...as you see...you can try change the value to calibrate the gauge
    Last edited by Carlos Corona; 10-30-2009 at 01:15 AM. Reason: more data

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member Carlos Corona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Querétaro, Mexico
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing Re: Flap gauge won't work

    Quote Originally Posted by vybhav View Post
    Guys,

    Let me also join the bandwagon. Just that I bought the gauges and I am absolutely clueless on what to do. I need help and help from basics as I seem to have zero knowledge on this and material I find on opencockpit website is something I am unable to understand.

    If you guys can tell me from the start (yeah.....spoon feed me )what to do. I have almost given up on opencockpit guage.
    ok..but tellme what kind of gauge you need help to setup....

  7. #7
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    261
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flap gauge won't work

    Carlos

    I have three gauages at the moment Flap, Brake and Yaw Damper.
    Regards
    Vybhav


  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Flap gauge won't work

    Dear Vybhav, Capetonian and Carlos Corona,

    Thank you all for the reply.
    It looks like I'm not the only with this problem.
    Cannot respond any further right now.
    I'll have to go to work in a short while.
    Let's stay in touch!!!

    Kind regards,

    In local language "Groet'n oet ***'n"

    Leo

  9. #9
    Executive Vice President, Administration, MyCockpit, Inc.
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    261
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos Corona View Post
    ok..but tellme what kind of gauge you need help to setup....
    Friends any help to get me started i am lost in this whole thing... SIOC i have no idea on how to start too.


    Regards
    Vybhav


    Posted via Mobile Device

Similar Threads

  1. Servo Flap Gauge Alignment
    By imported_sweker in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 03:09 PM
  2. PM analog flap gauge off from FS.
    By Randy Eskow in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2006, 11:16 AM
  3. calibrating Flap gauge
    By Jan Pemöller in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 10:00 AM
  4. Flap gauge adjustment
    By Skydvdan in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2004, 11:51 PM