Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Newbie looking for help with Potentiometer setup

    Hi all
    I brought 4 Vishay Spectrol 357 Potentiometers to use on my helicopter simpit.
    Alot smaller than I thought they would be given they are ideal for heavy use.

    My question is methods on how to hook them up. The shaft on the pot is Circular so I am not too sure how to go about attaching gears etc on the pots

    Regards

    Rhys

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Newbie looking for help with Potentiometer setup

    You can use a setting screw to hold the gear in place or use the threads on the pot and a nut to hold things too. That is my experience, may not be the right way though!
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Newbie looking for help with Potentiometer setup

    Thanks Grant, Its odd that the shaft is circular, as most pots I have seen have a flat side.

    On another note I have been looking at hall effect sensors, as I understand it you can do away with gears etc.

    Do you need to have a magnet to get a hall effect sensor to work or can you place the sensor close enough to a metal rod to get it working.

    Reason I ask is my cyclic is connected to two horizontal rods that have a total movement of about 10cm.
    The pedals are the same set up with about 12cm horizontal movement.

    Anyone with any thoughts on hall effect sensors or using them ?

    Cheers

    Rhys

Similar Threads

  1. FSX system setup for full 737 cockpit setup
    By BBJ737 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 12:25 AM
  2. Newbie... PM in a 5 screens single PC setup ?
    By Nick1150 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-02-2010, 01:53 AM
  3. Newbie to forum, sort of newbie to flight sim!
    By jtthorpe33 in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2010, 03:44 PM
  4. Basic FSX Setup for Newbie
    By FabioL in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 08:13 AM
  5. Multi videocard setup help- newbie
    By kevinbergin in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 02:03 AM