Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Fuel cutoff switch/selector valve

    Good day,

    Building a GA pit and wanted to look at alternatives for a fuel selector valve and cutoff switch.

    For the switch, I looked under MSFS X control assignments and could not see a command option for it...yet, I can work them with the mouse. Any way to add a toggle switch to make this work?

    What about a fuel selector valve?

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie Kerbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    St Louis, MO, USA
    Posts
    152
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Fuel cutoff switch/selector valve

    If there is not a built in button assignment option in FSX then you will have to roll your own software using the SimConnect API or use the excellent FSUIPC program.
    Kerbo on YouTube or Twitch
    github.com/wriley

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Fuel cutoff switch/selector valve

    Use FSUIPC with a 3 or 4 way encoder, use a t-bar handle / chain saw handle to replicate the lever!

    Cheers...

    Al
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job Ronson2k9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, ON Canada
    Posts
    528
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Fuel cutoff switch/selector valve

    You mean a pull start for a chainsaw/lawn mower?

    It depends on the aircraft you are modeling/simulating as to how your selector works. For mine it's a knob that you first pull (to release) then slide to it's desired tank usage.



    In the older one it was a knob you turned to get the tank you wanted. I haven't quite figured out how I'm going to do it yet but shouldn't be to hard. The knob itself can be made of wood though I'm thinking and painted.

    Having checked various listing of key commands there isn't one in Native FSX so you will need FSUIPC to actuate that command (as will I hehe). I know in the aircraft model I have it's pedestal is modeled along with the fuel selector so it can be done just need to get FSUIPC to activate it on it's own.
    Up Up and away in my beautiful my beautiful - Amphibian

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Fuel cutoff switch/selector valve

    I have the old simkits fuel selector and it is a replica of some pull handles I have seen for chainsaws.

    I have just checked FSUIPC and there is the fuel selector there to interface!

    Here are some lawn mover / chainsaw pulls found on ebay for a few Ģ's



    Kind Regards.

    Alex
    Last edited by AlexJ; 10-26-2009 at 07:21 PM.
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Juneau, AK
    Posts
    619
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Fuel cutoff switch/selector valve

    I am mostly finished with the same project. (it works well, except does not look great and integrated into a console yet.)

    I am using FSUIPC to send the commands to FSX.

    I have 4 microswitches arrayed at 90 degree angles on a plate. A bolt runs through a bushing and the plate. It has a nylon wingnut with one arm removed to serve as the bellcrank. As I turn the shaft, the bellcrank depresses one of the four microswitches, and causes the appropriate tank/fuel off to be selected.

    I am finishing this off with an Ebay'd fuel selector plate and a fuel selector knob from a C310.

Similar Threads

  1. B737-700 fuel cutoff command
    By Radar in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 10:22 AM
  2. Anyone need a fuel control switch???
    By Michael Carter in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 11:25 PM
  3. Fuel tank selector
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 02:09 PM
  4. fuel cutoff switches assign to my TQ
    By mvc340 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2008, 02:03 PM
  5. Park Brake and Engine Cutoff (Fuel Valves?) and FS2Phidgets
    By ekezz in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2006, 05:08 PM