Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Hi all

    Does anyone have the exact count of switches and nobs that re in a 737NG? Yeah, I guess i could open all the pictures i have and count them one by one - and possibly make a mistake - is there a place/resource i could go anc check to see how many switches are on the MIP/OH etc etc and the functions.

    Also, I see some guys suggest using the default (FSX) 737 for their cockpits. What are people using??

    Iyt would be stupid to do a full OH and MIP etc etc etc if the default 737 does not support a full start up procedure.

    What plane are you useing for your cockpit?? It would be ludicris to build a whole cockpit with 200 switches when only 40 work - know what i mean.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    I was using the default 737 in fsx but since i reverted to fs9 i use pmdg, far better. As for switches, this is what opencockpits state you would require just for the Fwd Overhead

    60 Switch caps
    47 Big ON-OFF switches
    15 Big ON-OFF-ON switches
    8 Big MON-OFF-MON switches
    3 30 degree rotary switches (12 pos)
    8 45 degree rotary switches (8 pos)
    8 Round switches buton
    8 Switch black safe guards
    3 Switch red safe guards
    5 Pots 10K
    22 Display digits 7 segments amber
    2 Rotary encoders
    154 Amber leds 5mm
    12 Green leds 5mm
    34 Blue leds 5mm

    Hope it helps

  3. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Hi steve can I just say I love your OH idea, definately a 10th if the cost of a new OH.

    I have noticed that on your OH there is a glare/shine from the glossy acrylic, does this ever put you off?

    I know on ebay you can buy a roll of ' Clear Matt self-adhesive film'.

    Just an idea.....

    Simply smashin setup you have, love the projection screen too, very innovative!

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Jay View Post
    Hi steve can I just say I love your OH idea, definately a 10th if the cost of a new OH.

    I have noticed that on your OH there is a glare/shine from the glossy acrylic, does this ever put you off?

    I know on ebay you can buy a roll of ' Clear Matt self-adhesive film'.

    Just an idea.....

    Simply smashin setup you have, love the projection screen too, very innovative!

    Alex
    Thanks Alex, To answer your questions: Yes i do get a shine and it is off putting but remember its only an interim solution to a full purpose built overhead. I have no backlighting and only essential switches wired into a bu0836x card. Just looking at the above post and adding up the cost of all the knobs and switches is very daunting, Which is why i'll have a full overhead kit before the holidays in December. I have decided to plump for the Symulatory (?) kit. This one seems most cost effective for me as it has all the buttons,switches and leds etc included.
    All i need to do now is read up on interfacing and powering the beauty.

  5. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Definitely agree with you for the poldragonet gear, very good value for money, its the cheapest I have seen so far!

    Keep up the good work pal.

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve A View Post
    Thanks Alex, To answer your questions: Yes i do get a shine and it is off putting but remember its only an interim solution to a full purpose built overhead. I have no backlighting and only essential switches wired into a bu0836x card. Just looking at the above post and adding up the cost of all the knobs and switches is very daunting, Which is why i'll have a full overhead kit before the holidays in December. I have decided to plump for the Symulatory (?) kit. This one seems most cost effective for me as it has all the buttons,switches and leds etc included.
    All i need to do now is read up on interfacing and powering the beauty.
    HI Steve

    I saw your build - EXCELLENT!! I see, as you said, "only the essential" switches. WHich switches are actually supported by the default 737? Particularly in FSX. I will wait for PMDG737x before i buy PMDG. Does PMDG support ALL switches, knobs etc? I would approach this as you did - only what i need and everything that "works" - i really can't affort to but switches and knobs etc that don't actually do anything at all - know what i mean! I would rather only use EVERYTHING i need and will/can use.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve A View Post
    I was using the default 737 in fsx but since i reverted to fs9 i use pmdg, far better. As for switches, this is what opencockpits state you would require just for the Fwd Overhead

    60 Switch caps
    .............
    .........

    Hope it helps
    Hi Steve

    I have been to OC site many times, and again this morning LOL, i can't find the info you just posted - i wanted to see what else i.e. MIP etc i needed.

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???


  9. Thanks shearder thanked for this post
  10. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Re: 737 Switches and Nobs - How Many???

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve A View Post
    AH thanks mate!! A True gentleman as well as a damn fine cockpit builder

Similar Threads

  1. Switches?
    By Drewsta in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 11:06 AM
  2. switches and more switches...
    By Jackpilot in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 06:18 PM
  3. switches?
    By Brenton Hill in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-20-2007, 08:16 PM
  4. Toggle switches to momentary switches?
    By Patrik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 10:58 AM
  5. AML switches
    By imported_Nihad in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 07:33 AM