Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    26
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hard wire power via Battery switch or rely on software?

    A QUESTION - Do you normally hardwire your switches to a bus powered via the batt switch or do you let the software and interface card control it? For example, nav lights wont come on with the batt switch off, but fsx/interface knows that and doesnt send a signal when you play with light switches with the batt off. Alternatively I can power the nav light switch via a battery switch powered bus to guarantee the lights wont come on with battery switch off.
    I know for push to test lights I have to hard wire, but for other switches I am not sure what is best. - Maybe it doesn't matter...

    Thanks,
    Stuart

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hard wire power via Battery switch or rely on software?

    Either way or both. Check out Ian's site www.737ng.co.uk/overhead.htm
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    Programmer



    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    158
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Hard wire power via Battery switch or rely on software?

    If you're building a 737 (don't know about others), I'd definately go for the software way. A 737 does not disconnect its battery from the busses when turning the battery switch to off. The battery switch is used to turn on the "switched hot battery bus", while the "hot battery bus" is always connected, regardles the state of the switch.

    Also, for accurate simulation, you do want to relate to the position of this switch for things like APU starting. And when you're engines or APU are providing power, the aircraft is almost completely functioning with the battery switch off (provided some switched hot battery bus equipment)

Similar Threads

  1. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  2. Old: Changing switch polarity in the software
    By kiek in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2010, 10:43 AM
  3. Switch sounds for PM Systems software
    By mauriceb in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-20-2008, 09:47 AM
  4. Wire / cable for connecting my first switch
    By David Rogers in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-17-2007, 03:34 PM
  5. Re: CPflight and battery
    By Fabrizio De Napoli in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-26-2006, 03:31 PM