Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    347
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Hi Folks.

    I want to build a motion platform and wonder if anyone has tackled this?
    Firstly, how are the movement signals from the joystick transferred to the motors moving the platform? Is it a unit that can be plugged into a port on the PC? Can this item be purchased? How would it interface with electric motors, and how do they lift/lower the platform? The motors must change polarity to be able to turn either way.
    I presume that pistons must come into play somehow, but cant see how they would be attached to motors??

    Simtechnik in Switzerland offer motors, cables and interface for £1000bp, but this is way over priced. No structure or support legs are supplied - just some bits! If you have £12000bp spare, they will build a unit and ship it for another £100bp shipping costs!! Their website shows units under construction, but as they work from what looks like a domestic garage, their opening shot of an impressive building seems out of sync?

    Any comments/contacts or help anyone?


    TONY.

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattan View Post
    Hi Folks.

    I want to build a motion platform and wonder if anyone has tackled this?
    Firstly, how are the movement signals from the joystick transferred to the motors moving the platform? Is it a unit that can be plugged into a port on the PC? Can this item be purchased? How would it interface with electric motors, and how do they lift/lower the platform? The motors must change polarity to be able to turn either way.
    I presume that pistons must come into play somehow, but cant see how they would be attached to motors??

    Simtechnik in Switzerland offer motors, cables and interface for £1000bp, but this is way over priced. No structure or support legs are supplied - just some bits! If you have £12000bp spare, they will build a unit and ship it for another £100bp shipping costs!! Their website shows units under construction, but as they work from what looks like a domestic garage, their opening shot of an impressive building seems out of sync?

    Any comments/contacts or help anyone?


    TONY.
    Already I have 3DOF simulator based in hydraulic power unit, hudraulic flow is controlled by proportional valve operated +24v, input signal +/-10vDC
    To controlling the motion base I install the experimental board K8061 http://www.velleman.eu/ot/en/product/view/?id=364910 but problem is hydraulic valve not response for control voltage from board K8061 analog output +/-10vDC (there is some noise from proportional valve after connection board)
    -where is problem ? what kind of signal must to be aside from +/- 10vDC ? frequency(Hz), curence (A) etc…

    Best regards Den.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    83
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Hi Mirage,

    Welcome aboard....

    The data sheet for your velleman board indicates the analogue output range is 0 to 10V, not +/-10V - might this have anything to do with the problem?

    Ian

  4. Thanks Mirage thanked for this post
  5. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Quote Originally Posted by IanH1960 View Post
    Hi Mirage,
    Welcome aboard....

    The data sheet for your velleman board indicates the analogue output range is 0 to 10V, not +/-10V - might this have anything to do with the problem?

    Ian

    Thanks Ian 4 invitation!

    I try to connect by opposite connection:
    Valve positive “+ INPUT” => “GND” k8061 board
    Valve negative “- INPUT” =>“+10vDC” k8061 board
    - motion base have little affect, theoretically if connecting another “+10V” pins to the “GND” and separate all wiring connection with diode bridges, by software you can give order change the direction for Analog outputs +/-10V ?! good idea ?

    I try to connect valve to standart +5v&+9v but platform not have any response, how I can run the valve ?

    Best regards Den

  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Wouldn't you want the output for the motion to be taken from FS data?

    If you simply connect motion up to the stick won't it get out of sequence with the sim?

    Dean
    AV-8B Sim Builder. If it won't hover, don't bovver

  7. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Quote Originally Posted by turbopropdriver View Post
    Wouldn't you want the output for the motion to be taken from FS data?

    If you simply connect motion up to the stick won't it get out of sequence with the sim?

    Dean
    Good question!!!
    By finally I planning make self-reacting motion base (with some “motion rules” switch) , for example if I run NFS-series game motion base move by “on ground” rules, if I run MFS-game, base EASY-switched to the flying rules
    Keeping in mind this idea I looking some solution how to better connect feedback signal from position sensors: -directly to proportional valve or through k8061? in first position give us just "safety mood" motion, second option give us maximum option (eg. craft position) but problem is how to take this signal from K8061 in PC ? It’s need develop some special software to k8061? Or I can find more EASY solution?
    -also now I need some information about position sensor feedback setup and configuration, when platform start run safe, next level is connecting manual control devices and make loop: joystick=>motion base=>position sensors=>motion base
    For example if I use three analog inputs for position sensors, we have another five analog inputs and Logitech wireless joystick, and now very important question:
    a) how many outputs have joystick? and how connect it for controlling motion base directly ?
    b) how make better and correct connection "Joystic+PC<=>motion base+position sensors" ?
    c) ... or I need for it some another devices or software?
    d) Where I can find some technical information how to connect “joystick-->Motion base->position sensors->motion base”

    -Plz can you give me some advice, idea, example, diagrams…

    Best regards Den.

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Roland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    195
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Hi Den,

    During my early experiments with motion platforms, I also used the joystick axis as input for platform movement, together with signals from force feedback stick. It works, but lacks some realism, and easily leads to false motion cues. But you can try it out, so info can be found on my website:
    http://www.simprojects.nl/diy_motion_platform.htm
    http://www.simprojects.nl/Interfacing_1.htm

    More advanced interfacing methods can be found at
    http://www.simprojects.nl/diy_motion_platform_iii.htm and subsequent pages.
    RR

  9. Thanks Mirage thanked for this post
  10. #8
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Quote Originally Posted by Roland View Post
    Hi Den,

    During my early experiments with motion platforms, I also used the joystick axis as input for platform movement, together with signals from force feedback stick. It works, but lacks some realism, and easily leads to false motion cues. But you can try it out, so info can be found on my website:
    http://www.simprojects.nl/diy_motion_platform.htm
    http://www.simprojects.nl/Interfacing_1.htm

    More advanced interfacing methods can be found at
    http://www.simprojects.nl/diy_motion_platform_iii.htm and subsequent pages.
    Hellow Roland

    Thanks for helpful information !
    -present time I work with proportional hydraulic valve, and have some interesting idea (and some questions ), plz check the attached file…
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #9
    75+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    83
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Hi Mirage,

    Do you have the full spec number of the valve you are using?

    Ian

  12. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    12
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: MOTION PLATFORMS!!!!! can U build wun?

    Quote Originally Posted by IanH1960 View Post
    Hi Mirage,

    Do you have the full spec number of the valve you are using?

    Ian
    No it's scratched by manufacturer of simulator, there just ATOS writing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Yet another cheap and easy to build motion platform!
    By louisgr in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 02-21-2013, 05:22 PM
  2. Software Platforms
    By castle in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 01:41 PM
  3. Sim Motion
    By Padraig in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-30-2009, 05:39 PM
  4. 3-DOF Motion platform
    By Terry72 in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 08:01 PM
  5. Software Platforms
    By Tomlin in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-30-2008, 11:46 AM