Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member Airhogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Signal Mountain, TN USA
    Posts
    53
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain



    I just saw this and thought it should be brought to light here. Sorry if there's already a post on it, but I couldn't find one. Any ideas on how to convince Enrico that this is needed in the PM GAGC? I would think a second networked system would be a requirement for it. Someone else described it as a simulator within a simulator. My pit and I basically want this right now!

    https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=37630

    (watch the video)

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    Wow that is some nice piece of kit, yep, i want also

    Hmm, google earth flightsim on ur PFD? cant be that hard?
    - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Philip Lambert

    747-400? nah probably 767 now, FS9, FDT simboards , dunnow about software yet

    www.simvionics.co.uk

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    Well, it is definitely the future of cockpit displays. Just look at the 787 and the new Gulfstreams. So, I too hope Enrico will further develop GAGC - which I am sure he will.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    I actually flew with one of these in a 182 for real. I shot a couple of instrument approaches with the foggles on (Simulated IMC) and it was amazing. I asked the CFII if this was considered cheating as it was so easy with the runway depicted right on the screen. His reply...."no, that is technology!"

    I often wonder as I go through my instrument training in a 172 equipped with a G1000 whether or not I am somehow cheating myself. To answer that I thought about it and decided that I am not. Because if I ever decided to go flying single pilot IFR in a small GA plane now knowing what the combination of a G1000 and the GFC700 autopilot give the pilot in terms of SA and extra safety there is no way I would go in an old steam gauge plane and certainly not without a descent autopilot.

    For those pilots out there that do or you older pilots that grew up on steam guages, I give you a ton of credit. You are some brave folks! Not to say that steam guages arent a lot of fun but this technology today is so much better for awareness.

  5. Thanks Airhogg thanked for this post
  6. #5
    25+ Posting Member Airhogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Signal Mountain, TN USA
    Posts
    53
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    I agree 100%! My concern though is that we may become complacent in "staying with" the old technology in the event of a power failure or other mishap. I never really got deep into my instrument training 15 years ago, but the main reason I built a cockpit was to learn the old and new. My two main front panels are a steam stack right next to a G1000!


  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    150
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    First you would need to convince several hundred people to purchase the PM GAGC.

    I don't believe the GAGC has sold enough units to expend further development time on the software. Unless I missed an update, it's been over a year since the GAGC has received an update.

  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    Quote Originally Posted by N242AM View Post
    First you would need to convince several hundred people to purchase the PM GAGC.
    However, if this is the future of avionics, they are only shooting themselves in the foot in the longterm if no development is done. We are already seeing a lot of competition on the glass cockpit software front.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    I think this can be simulated by just using a HUD gauge over the outside view using WideView on your PFD monitor, or by using a custom HUD gauge made for this purpose. I also think this method could be used to simulate NV Goggles to a point, by doing the same as above, but output to a set of VGA goggles, and make the output monochroamtic. just a thought.

  10. Thanks Airhogg thanked for this post
  11. #9
    25+ Posting Member Airhogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Signal Mountain, TN USA
    Posts
    53
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Garmin G1000 SVT 3D Terrain

    You are correct N242AM,
    It has been a while since the last GAGC update. I actually e-mailed Enrico today in hopes of soon getting the FMS knobs on it to function properly.

    And ak49er... AWESOME IDEA!

Similar Threads

  1. Garmin G1000
    By Jasmckee in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 68
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 06:57 AM
  2. Garminsim G1000
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 02:20 PM
  3. Garmin G1000 Cockpit
    By xdefiantx in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-19-2008, 09:19 AM
  4. Garmin G1000
    By Tim in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 06:32 AM
  5. P.I. Engineering Garmin G1000
    By Tim in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 12:28 PM