Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member rhysb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Yeovil UK
    Posts
    111
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    Anyone bought one of these? If so how do you get it to work? Supposed to be plug and play but so far plug and..... nothing!

    No documentation or manuals on the opencockpits website?

    Any help?

    Rhys B

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    all i know is that it gives me a high deja vu feeling......


    open cockpits:





    cpflight/flyengravity (released 2 years ago):





    Now, i know we all copy the originals, but these 2 really look the same. Up to the techniques used for producing the texts in the display.


    sorry i cant help ya though Rhys.....


    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kiel
    Posts
    31
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    hi
    perhaps you could try this:
    go to this page http://www.opencockpits.com/catalog/...-pp-p-237.html => downloads, there you can find a manual and the software.
    install it and run the exe file.

    hope this helps,
    greetings, christian

  4. #4
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    Quote Originally Posted by rhysb View Post
    Supposed to be plug and play but so far plug and..... nothing!

    LOL Had to laugh at that. Opencockpits have a good customer support it might be worth contacting them.

    Best Regards

    Geremy
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    Quote Originally Posted by dnoize View Post
    Now, i know we all copy the originals, but these 2 really look the same. Up to the techniques used for producing the texts in the display.
    And what is wrong with that? Aren't all vendors trying to emulate the real Boeing counterpart? So if someone is the first to make a product that looks exactly like the original one, then all the others need to make them different because otherwise it's copying a copy?
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  6. Thanks dnoize thanked for this post
  7. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    Nope no problem at all, thats why i said that 'we all copy the original'.

    Besides, thats how it goes in this business: alot of creative lending. I just try to be creative myself

    its just that when i spend alot of time and money and trial and error to find a method that replicates the original as close as possible for 1/10 th of the price, and 2 year later someone else just unscrews one of your units and copies it down to the smallest production detail that bites jussssst a little bit . It just feels a bit like doing someone elses R&D

    but its no problem at all.
    Your gain, my loss

    i'm sure that if you come up with a great design and production technique you wont mind if i take of with your idea's either.
    Last edited by dnoize; 09-09-2009 at 06:53 PM. Reason: Cant spell ;-)
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  8. Thanks rhysb, phil744 thanked for this post
  9. #7
    75+ Posting Member rhysb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Yeovil UK
    Posts
    111
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    hehe well said stef! I totally agree!!

    Christian... like i said in my first post no documentation or manuals on their site! The manual you download on that link is for a completly different product! the 737 radios! Thanks for looking though bud appreciatte it

    And Geremy yes I have contacted opencockpits! Lets be fair I would be stupid not to contact the vendor!.

  10. #8
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    Hello Rhysb,

    follow the link and you 'll find all the info + files needed to get your module working.
    http://www.opencockpits.com/uploads/...TS_COM_737.zip

  11. #9
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    It's the same software for their nav and com. You just need to change the parameters.

  12. #10
    75+ Posting Member rhysb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Yeovil UK
    Posts
    111
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Open Cockpit Transponder module!

    Dirk,

    I have that all installed but nothing in the config files or program refers to the transponder module. The program recognises it but gives no setup options at all for it?? very strange

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Opencockpit's 737 ATC Transponder Module - In need of desperate help!
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-22-2010, 04:01 AM
  2. Help with Open Cockpit Gauges
    By vybhav in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-17-2009, 05:48 PM
  3. Open Cockpit Panels
    By weshollett in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 08:14 AM
  4. How do you get Open Cockpit to Work
    By capttlm in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2008, 01:48 PM
  5. open cockpit panels.
    By droddis in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2008, 03:33 PM