Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie


    388TH_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Medford, Oregon (USA)
    Posts
    246
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Im looking for the FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel if there is one..... Im using the PMDG MD-11 A/C and Its the Test button on the overhead Panel that when you push it, it makes all the lights on the buttons on the Panel light up. If that helps at all!

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by 388TH_A View Post
    Im looking for the FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel if there is one..... Im using the PMDG MD-11 A/C and Its the Test button on the overhead Panel that when you push it, it makes all the lights on the buttons on the Panel light up. If that helps at all!
    FSUIPC itself only supplies data relating to things implemented in FS itself.

    Many add-ons use private ranges of offsets via FSUIPC as well -- Project Magenta, for instance. Its "pmSystems" package would cover the one you are interested in for aircraft it supports. Some add-on aircraft such as the LevelD 767 also use FSUIPC offsets and sometimes document them for others to use.

    PMDG aircraft did use offsets for some things in FS2004, but not in FSX. And even in FS2004, they didn't publish them for others to use. There is no direct way through FSUIPC to access anything specific to add-on aircraft panels which aren't supplied with the means to do so, and the PMDG MD-11 is one of them.

    However, if you merely want to assign a real button to the function in the MD-11, you may well be able to do so by making an FSUIPC "mouse macro" to assign to. Generally the PMDG panels have been quite amenable to this technique -- at least the 737NG and 747 has been, but maybe the MD-11 is a departure. I don't know. Someone who has got the aircraft and tried may be able to advise.

    Regards

    Pete

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie


    388TH_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Medford, Oregon (USA)
    Posts
    246
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Well Thanks any ways, i was afraid of that! But i guess i could even also connect all the lights to one master switch that would turn them on when you push it. Although it would be connected to FS.... But thanks any ways

  4. #4
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    HI 388,

    Have a look at Ian Sissons' site HERE. He has lots of very useful information and specifically a tutorial on how to power a LED from more than one source. It explains how to power LED's in a TEST button configuration. Look down the left side of his Technical page for the pdf. This might help in your quest for the holy test button

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Hi,

    Ken describes the hardware solution, which is great.

    However for the record, do not forget there is also a software solution for this function, which imo is much easier and cheaper.
    In other words: integrate the test functionality in the software that controls your leds and displays. Another advantage of this approach is that you then can also integrate cold and dark support as well.
    For examples of this approach, look at my SIOC code for my Level-D 767.

  6. #6
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by kiek View Post
    Hi,

    Ken describes the hardware solution, which is great.

    However for the record, do not forget there is also a software solution for this function, which imo is much easier and cheaper.
    In other words: integrate the test functionality in the software that controls your leds and displays. Another advantage of this approach is that you then can also integrate cold and dark support as well.
    For examples of this approach, look at my SIOC code for my Level-D 767.
    Good point Nico and this is the very option I use for the Test function on my pedastal radios. I agree this is certainly the simpler and more cost effective option, however doesn't it depend on the hardware interface and associated software 388 is using? I'm only familiar with SIOC and the Opencockpit hardware.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Anderson/SBSP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil, Brazil
    Posts
    336
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Hi Peter,

    Is possible in the future use mouse macros via offsets?

    To use FSBUS cards or another IO card to make a keystroke like the joystick button when use mouse macro.

    Maybe i dont has clear in my intention and my english not help!! hehehe

    The idea is create offsets to read and write information via SIOC, FSBUS DLL ou CDK, where one offset to left click on mouse, another for right click etc...

    With this offsets we are able to set mouse pointer in any position and make a click.

    Regards,
    Anderson Roberto de Souza - Brazil / São Paulo
    Blog: www.737ngsim.com.br Twitter: @ARSouza

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Hi Ken,

    You'r right, you should have an interface system (hard- and software) that allows you to program scripts... , such as Opencockpits SIOC or FSBUS CDK.

    However, if you are thinking of implementing a test lights switch you are already a quite advanced cockpit builder, imho. And for advanced cockpits you need advanced interface systems.

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2,200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Anderson/SBSP View Post
    Is possible in the future use mouse macros via offsets?
    Don't think there is a need to, in FSUIPC you can select a mouse macro just like any other FSControl.
    These FSControls controls can be called from SIOC directly:
    http://www.lekseecon.nl/howto.html#fscontrol

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict Anderson/SBSP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil, Brazil
    Posts
    336
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: FSUIPC Address for the Test Button on the Overhead Panel

    I use FSBUS cards in my project.

    You can give more details how i can make this in fsuipc to set a macro in offset address to change his value?

    Thanks for your help.
    Anderson Roberto de Souza - Brazil / São Paulo
    Blog: www.737ngsim.com.br Twitter: @ARSouza

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How can I make COMM TEST button PUSH to TALK button ???
    By Nick1150 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 10:50 AM
  2. Question about Light test button
    By Olympic260 in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 11:25 AM
  3. Cuttoff switches via fsuipc ans Button
    By hercules in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 08:32 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 10:46 AM
  5. FSUIPC: replacement test version 3.424
    By Peter Dowson in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-25-2004, 10:26 AM