Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Switches for Lights.

    Hello.

    I'm just starting off building my cockpit. I would like to wire these switches up for the lights. How do I get these to work with USB? Is there an interface board? They are really nice to feel, and will be really cool to come into land and actually have hardware to turn on and off!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    One of the best and easiest interface boards to use is the BU0386X from Leo Bodnar www.leobodnar.com. It makes the switches you wire to it, buttons that can be assigned functions. You can use FSX to assign the switches/buttons but Peter Dowson's FSUIPC will make the options almost endless.

    There are other interface boards (Flight Deck Solutions, Opencockpits,etc.) which have output capabilites among other things. The "sky is the limit" in this hobby. It depends how far you want to get into it.
    Last edited by autocadplease; 09-05-2009 at 03:04 PM. Reason: Forgot my pre-school spelling!!!!
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    Is the BU0836X the only one you can use or is it possible to use the BU0836A? Just because its cheaper.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    EDIT: THE BU0386A DOES HAVE 32 INPUTS! SORRY!!!

    Absolutely, it just has 12 inputs instead of 32 like the BU0386X.

    If you are one a budget and are "handy", buy the cheap game controller and wire your switch to it's buttons.
    Last edited by autocadplease; 09-05-2009 at 03:35 PM. Reason: Typing before thinking and checking!!!
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    Sorry, Which game controller do you mean? or do you mean a generic one?

    and thanks for the info, I might buy one of them unless this option is cheaper.

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member


    NigelD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Aylesbury, England
    Posts
    122
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    Quote Originally Posted by autocadplease View Post
    The "ski is the limit" in this hobby. It depends how far you want to get into it.
    Yes, the ski certainly is the limit if you are going skiing!!!

    I'll keep my plane in the sky. Funny typo my man!

    Nigel.
    I can't see the light but I think I found the tunnel...
    www.shamrock075.webs.com

  7. Thanks autocadplease thanked for this post
  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    Yes, any USB game controller or HID (human interface device) with buttons will work. I bought a game controllers here in Canada at Wal-Mart for $5. Just like this one on Ebay http://cgi.ebay.ca/USB-Dual-Shock-Co...d=p3286.c0.m14. Just trace the button's circuit back to the controller card and solder your wires there or if you can just solder directly on the PCB (printed circuit board) where the button sits.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

  9. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    You can also open the guts of a cheap joystick, get the two wires attached to any button, hook them to your switch and assign the "landing light " function to that switch with FSUIPC.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  10. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    Ah, That sounds a little over my head, I have a tendency of breaking PCB's when soldering. . Is there wiring diagrams for the BU0386A? I've bought some switches which have the following terminals on the bottom:
    | |
    | |
    | |

    Which would I connect to where?

    Thanks

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Switches for Lights.

    Looks like they are DPDT (Double Pole, Double Throw). This means you can attach two separate circuits (double pole) to the switch, which will turn on/off two different functions (double throw). The switch would probably be ON/OFF/ON. Meaning, the middle position is OFF. The up position is ON for one function and the down position is ON for a separate function. You can always solder pins together or not solder them all together.

    The BU0386A does not have the quick connects like the BU0386X. You may want to buy connectors for it or you will have to solder to each pin. The wiring diagram is on the website.
    Grant D.
    Nelson,B.C. Canada
    Win7 32bit, FSX, PM Boeing, TH2GO, GEX, VoxATC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Nav lights Taxi lights
    By mocha22 in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 09:35 AM
  2. cdu lights
    By paulj in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 07:21 AM
  3. Toggle switches to momentary switches?
    By Patrik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 10:58 AM
  4. Cabin lights
    By Radar in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-18-2007, 08:56 AM
  5. using a 16/16 board to control switches and lights
    By steve diamond in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 12:43 PM