Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    EFIS plug and play module?

    Can someone tell me if the OpenCockpits EFIS plug and play module is worth it? Yes, I know you get what you pay for, but I would like to know what you guys think of it. Thanks!
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Hello Efrain,

    on the OC Efis the TFC and CTR buttons are not implemented.
    There is no selector for the radio / baro altitude (around the minimums setting rotary). You can overcome that by using the push button function of it to switch between the 2 modes.
    The same goes for the inch / baro selector. The same method to overcome that problem.
    Further on it's working quit good.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Quote Originally Posted by dvincent View Post
    Hello Efrain,

    on the OC Efis the TFC and CTR buttons are not implemented.
    There is no selector for the radio / baro altitude (around the minimums setting rotary). You can overcome that by using the push button function of it to switch between the 2 modes.
    The same goes for the inch / baro selector. The same method to overcome that problem.
    Further on it's working quit good.
    Thanks for the response, dvincent. I was thinking that I could open it up and replace the switches with concentric rotaries/encoders with push buttons on the radio/baro selectors.

    As for the TRC/CTR, I was thinking of simply modifying the rotary switches to allow for a pushbutton to work on each.

    Would this be possible or would modifying it make it useless?
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Steve A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Paphos Cyprus
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Do open cockpits not sell the efis in kit form? .. Might be easier if you are planning to modify it

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Quote Originally Posted by GPI Steve View Post
    Do open cockpits not sell the efis in kit form? .. Might be easier if you are planning to modify it
    Actually, they do make mention of it being available in kit form, but I don't see it listed as a kit on their website. I will email them and ask about it.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Good idea, Efrain.
    Keep us informed about the kit availability.
    Adding 2 selectors in a way that it works the same way as a dual concentric depends not only on the skills to produce such a thing but there must be 4 free connectors inside the efis.

    Regards,

    Dirk

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Quote Originally Posted by dvincent View Post
    Good idea, Efrain.
    Keep us informed about the kit availability.
    Adding 2 selectors in a way that it works the same way as a dual concentric depends not only on the skills to produce such a thing but there must be 4 free connectors inside the efis.

    Regards,

    Dirk
    As far as making the dual concentric rotaries, I think I have mastered that skill! lol I made them for the N1 and SPD REF switches on the Autobrake panel and they work and look great. I used a tutorial from this website: http://personales.ya.com/micabina737/index.htm which teaches you on how to make these type of switches.

    I have a feeling that maybe buying all the components separately, will probably be my best option in making a nice EFIS module.

    I have done some shopping around for all the components needed, such as switches, EFIS panel, encoders, toggles, and hardware such as knobs and standoffs. I can expect to pay about $230 USD if I buy EVERYTHING separately, which is the same amount I will pay if I was to buy the OC EFIS plug and play module.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member


    dvincent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vlissingen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    138
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Hi Efrain,

    I took a look at that website.

    here is another link with a complete tutorial for makin' an efis, including film to make the pcb's. Just adding a 2 concentrics with a rotary selector (2 positions) and a rotary encoder + centre axis for the pusbutton makes it complete.
    The pushbuttons are Omron tactile switches. You can buy these at Digikey.

    Panels at OC or Hispapanels.

    http://www.micabinadevuelo.com/

    I think I will make 2 modules too.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    Quote Originally Posted by dvincent View Post
    Hi Efrain,

    I took a look at that website.

    here is another link with a complete tutorial for makin' an efis, including film to make the pcb's. Just adding a 2 concentrics with a rotary selector (2 positions) and a rotary encoder + centre axis for the pusbutton makes it complete.
    The pushbuttons are Omron tactile switches. You can buy these at Digikey.

    Panels at OC or Hispapanels.

    http://www.micabinadevuelo.com/

    I think I will make 2 modules too.
    Great post, dvincent! I think I will go this route and just buy all the components. I think I will have more control on the quality and looks of the EFIS by doing it myself.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: EFIS plug and play module?

    As Dirk pointed out, please note that the oc pcb will lack the physical terminals to connect these extra switch positions to !

    So you will have to interface those to another interface and write your own SIOC scripts for that.



    stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. new plug and play 747 MCP and EFIS
    By dnoize in forum Performance Line Panels
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 06:43 PM
  2. O/C efis plug and play
    By Drewsta in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 05:10 PM
  3. Plug And Play Efis 737
    By QF6228 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2007, 03:52 PM