Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ENG and SYS buttons?

    Hello all,

    How do the ENG and SYS buttons work? These are the two small buttons located right below the MFD legend on the Autobrake Panel.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    From the 737 FCOM:
    page 13.10.2:
    Push – SYS
    • displays hydraulic indications on lower DU; or if the lower DU is
    unavailable, displays it on upper DU or inboard DU based on the position
    of the display select panel selector
    • second push blanks lower DU.

    page 7.15.3:
    Push – ENG
    • displays secondary engine indications on lower DU; or if the lower DU is
    unavailable, on upper or inboard DU based on the position of the display
    select panel selector
    • second push blanks lower DU.

    you can download the FCOM from the file library

    Chris

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    Quote Originally Posted by choffmann View Post
    From the 737 FCOM:
    page 13.10.2:
    Push – SYS
    • displays hydraulic indications on lower DU; or if the lower DU is
    unavailable, displays it on upper DU or inboard DU based on the position
    of the display select panel selector
    • second push blanks lower DU.

    page 7.15.3:
    Push – ENG
    • displays secondary engine indications on lower DU; or if the lower DU is
    unavailable, on upper or inboard DU based on the position of the display
    select panel selector
    • second push blanks lower DU.

    you can download the FCOM from the file library

    Chris
    Thanks Chris! Ok, and how can I switch between the different MFD modes such as ELEC, HYD, etc etc... Or are these only a 777 option? My pit is based on a 737.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    I must admit, I dont know the right answer for this. I [I]believe[I], it depends on the options the aircraft owner wants realized from Boeing Co.
    Any real world 737 pilot out there, who might know this?

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    FCOM page 9.10.13:
    Push – SYS
    • displays flight control surface position indications on lower DU; or if the
    lower DU is unavailable, displays it on upper DU or inboard DU based on
    the position of the display select panel selector
    • second push removes indications on the respective DU.

    Apart from this, I guess there are no other selectable indications.
    Look into the BBJ FCOM for graphic descriptions.

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    Quote Originally Posted by choffmann View Post
    FCOM page 9.10.13:
    Push – SYS
    • displays flight control surface position indications on lower DU; or if the
    lower DU is unavailable, displays it on upper DU or inboard DU based on
    the position of the display select panel selector
    • second push removes indications on the respective DU.

    Apart from this, I guess there are no other selectable indications.
    Look into the BBJ FCOM for graphic descriptions.
    Hmmm... Could it be that it's a company option and there will only be ONE display for it? Because from what you have been pointing out, it's gonna be either one of two things every time you press the SYS button: Page or Blank.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict ak49er's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Big Lake, Alaska
    Posts
    323
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    Isn't there a switch on the MIP for Lower Du? It is on a panel directly above and center of the PFD and NAV Display.....

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie choffmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany, Hanau
    Posts
    231
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    From what I found in the PMDG 737 documentation, there are airline customer software options for either a side by side display, a over-under-display and a compact display. In the over-under-option, you can apparently cycle thru a small elec-hydraulic page and the flight control surface position indications on the lower DU with the sys pushbutton. When pushing the eng button, the secondary engine EICAS instruments are displayed in the lower DU.
    With PM, there is also a possibility to switch between these displays from inside the FMC. But I don΄t know, if this is implemented in the real smiths FMC as I did not find a description for this in the FMC guide, which can also be downloaded in the file library.

    ak49er
    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?
    Isn't there a switch on the MIP for Lower Du? It is on a panel directly above and center of the PFD and NAV Display.....
    This switch is only for selection of what is actually displayed on the lower DU: you can switch the primary engine parameters usually shown in the upper DU or the ND to the lower DU in case there is a monitor malfunction.

    Cheers
    Chris

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    Quote Originally Posted by choffmann View Post
    From what I found in the PMDG 737 documentation, there are airline customer software options for either a side by side display, a over-under-display and a compact display. In the over-under-option, you can apparently cycle thru a small elec-hydraulic page and the flight control surface position indications on the lower DU with the sys pushbutton. When pushing the eng button, the secondary engine EICAS instruments are displayed in the lower DU.
    With PM, there is also a possibility to switch between these displays from inside the FMC. But I don΄t know, if this is implemented in the real smiths FMC as I did not find a description for this in the FMC guide, which can also be downloaded in the file library.



    This switch is only for selection of what is actually displayed on the lower DU: you can switch the primary engine parameters usually shown in the upper DU or the ND to the lower DU in case there is a monitor malfunction.

    Cheers
    Chris
    Ok, so basically, once I get my LOWER EICAS monitor hooked up, I can run the MFD displays there and cycle through all the different MFD screens by using the SYS button? Cool... All I would need to do is to write a SIOC logic so that it cycles through each screen on every press of the SYS button. Also make it so that when I press the ENG button, it switches the lower EICAS to display the secondary engine display. Nice!

    Thanks!
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: ENG and SYS buttons?

    Cycling through the MFD screen is usually done with the Tab key.
    Just assign that key to an interfaced switch and your done!

    (check the PM manual, most functions are accessible that way)
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LED Push Buttons
    By matta757 in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-09-2017, 05:49 PM
  2. Switches and Buttons
    By docmeister in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 11:04 PM
  3. ICP Buttons
    By Menessis in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 01:01 AM
  4. Buttons!!
    By droddis in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-21-2007, 03:47 PM
  5. Switches, buttons, etc for 0/16/16 & 8/8/8
    By Skydvdan in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-17-2004, 10:58 PM