Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Power Supply for our Cockpit

    This thread would like to be a suggestion (especially for beginners) regarding the "Power Supply System" of our cockpit.
    Instead of using several small (and probably limited) power supplies, we can use an ATX power supply that can give to electronics stabilized voltage also at high current.
    Considering a 450 Watt ATX power supply, we can have 20 Ampere at 12 Volt and some more at 5 Volt (plus overload, shortcircuits and overheat protections).
    There is no need for a motherboard to turn it on but a simple jumper between two pins of the power supply's connector.
    I hope this may be useful, regards.

    Roberto
    Roberto G.

    ATR 72-500 Sim Project
    http://digilander.libero.it/washburn_it

  2. Thanks fweinrebe thanked for this post
  3. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Home
    Posts
    150
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power Supply for our Cockpit

    Good suggestion Roberto. I have used this approach and example for many years.

    http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...owerSupply.htm

  4. Thanks fweinrebe, autocadplease thanked for this post
  5. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Power Supply for our Cockpit

    Good article !
    More or less is the same thing that I did but since I had a 20x2 LCD display and an ATMega16 getting dust in a corner of my desk, I decided to add some "extra" function to my PSU: a voltage/current monitor.
    I'm using 4 of 8 ADC converter of the ATMega to monitor +12V and +5V lines and, above all, the "flowing" current out of those two lines.
    Voltages are already monitored but for the current I'm waiting for the arrival of an ACS712 instead of using the classic 0.1 Ohm resistor.
    The ATMega drives also the LCD display where voltages/current are shown.

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Roberto G.

    ATR 72-500 Sim Project
    http://digilander.libero.it/washburn_it

Similar Threads

  1. PC power supply to power Phidgets LED 64
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 04:21 PM
  2. 12V power supply
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2009, 03:45 AM
  3. PC power Supply
    By BlackWidow in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-25-2007, 11:50 PM
  4. Power Supply
    By Tim in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 09:13 AM
  5. 8/8/8 kits, USB and power supply
    By Target in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2007, 06:50 PM