Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Microchips for FSBUS

    Hi there, is it possible to buy pre-programmed Microchips to make 4 x FSBUS display controllers , just that I need 4 microchips, I am fine making the PCB but don't have a programmer to program the microchips, and was wondering if anyone has access to a programmer to program the chips.....

    Or are programmers cheap enough to buy?

    Also does anyone know where to find info on maing an FSBUS COM board?
    Cheers,

    Alex
    Last edited by AlexJ; 08-25-2009 at 05:37 AM.
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    hi alex......
    have a look at the PICAXE chips ... www.picaxe.co.uk . you dont need a programmer to program the chips, you do it from your PC.
    i've started using these to do all sorts of things in the cockpit. amazing little critters
    rgds ... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  3. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Hi Ian,

    All I am doing is making 4 LED displays to display 2 Nav's & Comms, pointless buying a programmer just for this!

    Cheers for the advice mate, will definitely look it to this!

    Cheers Ian.....as always!

    PS....My radio is really coming along now, many many thanks for the encoder you sent me!

    Alex
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  5. #4
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Krefeld, Germany
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Hi Alex Jay,

    if you build the Display Card and the Com Card you can program the Controllers by your self.
    Informations about the Com card you will find in the doc folder in your CDK/FSBussDLL installation folder.
    There also you find the Display Card (dsp) Manual, with all informations about programming the Contollers and work with them.

    If you have questions or problems fell free to ask.

    Stefan

  6. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  7. #5
    Forum Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Essex / EGMC
    Posts
    2,104
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    I must admit, the more I read about this 'microchips' lark, the more its scaring me! This is seriously difficult to learn!
    Building An Airbus In My Garage!

  8. #6
    300+ Forum Addict RobiD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    433
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Hey Alex,

    It sounds complicated but it's easy to learn and you have lots of help here if you get stuck.

    I knew nothing about programming chips but now it's a breeze. I've programmed 15 display chips without problems let along all the other cards as well.

    As Stefan said, if you have build the com board, it has a programmer built into it using the 6 pin ISP connector. Read the com documentation for how to do it, then read the documentation on the display cards for information on programming specifically those cards.

    Once you have done one, it's a breeze.

    So don't overwhelm yourself. If you have built you com board and your display board, and you have the chips ready to go, then you have everything you need.

    You will probably need to download PonyProg to do the job of writing the hex files to the chips. It's free to download here: http://www.lancos.com/ppwin95.html

    Hope the info helps.

    David

  9. Thanks AlexJ thanked for this post
  10. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Hey guys

    I am also attempting the FSBus route!! Are the chips programmed via the serial port OR via an external device i.e. PIKIT2?

    I am planning the main board and LED Board first and then the board for the MCP digits i.e. heading, IAS etc...

    On the site i see the FSBUS program - can i assume that is what is used to "program/flash" the chips??

  11. #8
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Krefeld, Germany
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Hallo,
    oh the real old boards.
    Sorry that is a lot of time before i started with Fsbus.
    You can load the software on 737ng.
    But i donīt know witch version you need.
    With that tool you can flash the chips.

    Stefan

  12. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Quote Originally Posted by sgaert View Post
    Hallo,
    oh the real old boards.
    Sorry that is a lot of time before i started with Fsbus.
    You can load the software on 737ng.
    But i donīt know witch version you need.
    With that tool you can flash the chips.

    Stefan
    Thanks got some stuff there. Yeah they are old boards but the idea is that they are relatively "cheap" to put together and that is the key for me!! It also won't cost TOO much to make a mistake - though avoidance is the best LOL

    Thanks again

  13. #10
    300+ Forum Addict RobiD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    433
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Microchips for FSBUS

    Quote Originally Posted by shearder View Post
    Thanks got some stuff there. Yeah they are old boards but the idea is that they are relatively "cheap" to put together and that is the key for me!! It also won't cost TOO much to make a mistake - though avoidance is the best LOL

    Thanks again
    Price wise, there is not a lot of difference in making the new boards to the old.

    I made the old boards way back but as soon as the New Generation boards were released, I made them. Very happy with them (as I was with the old boards).

    The main difference is that you can use C++ to create your own program to run all your switches, gauges, lights etc etc that is fully customised to suit your cockpit.

    I had no knowledge of C++ before starting the New Generation boards, but with the help of Stefan (who just posted here), I have an amazing cockpit running handmade analogue gauges with servos, MCP, Radios, backlighting and much more. I'm luvin' it.

    If you're going to the effort to build the boards, I recommend building the new boards. But that is only my opinion.

    David

    PS plus the new boards have a built in ISP programmer (to program or flash the chips) so you don't need any other hardware to program the microcontroller chips.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Getting My FSBUS NG I/O Going Again..
    By JBRoberts in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2010, 02:38 PM
  2. Fsbus ng io
    By Davral in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2009, 10:38 PM
  3. Fsbus 2.4.3
    By Anderson/SBSP in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-30-2008, 04:25 PM
  4. Fsbus
    By 388TH_A in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 05:15 PM
  5. Help FSBUS
    By cesarfsim in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-26-2008, 03:23 PM