Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member weshollett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    TouchScreens Question.

    Hi Guys,

    I have been using FlightDeckTechnology interface cards for a while now but wish to change projects to the Cessna Mustang after Flight1 great aircraft. To do the Garmin 1000 I was thinking of interfacing with cards but would touchscreens be easier. I have 3 spare monitors and have recently found the following kit

    http://www.qqq.com.au/touch-screen-p...c5708e20c16003

    Has anybody had any experience with these ready done kits within FSX. All feedback appreciated.

    Wes.

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    Hey nice find Wes. Haven't used them myself but plenty here have the full blown touchscreens. Great for FMC's that would normally require a lot of hardware interfacing to do properly. Of course they are also perfect for the G1000 due to the number of function buttons around the perimeter and the lack of a G1000 standalone panel with keyboard shortcuts. The closest for home builders is the Mindstar version but they have been very slow to get out the home cockpit version with key functions (although it is available in beta form). Also Simkits produce a fully functional panel but at extreme cost. I'm going to get the Mustand and try converting my sim to cater for it as I've heard its a great bird. You could also do the same with standard screens using Key2mouse to access the Garmin buttons.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie twisted8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    243
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    I have used one of those before, one problem I had was that I wasn't able to figure out how to lock panels on FSX so sometime i would move the panel by accidentally clicking and dragging but I'm sure there is gotta be a way around that. Also you can find them cheaper on ebay. I think mine was $80 for 19"
    I ended up not using it since I went ahead and started building real switches with opencockpits cards, a lot more fun to use!

    Is it easier? yeah! does it beat real switches? not even close! But it can work.

  4. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level



    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    I know this is a G1000 for X-plane, but the concept seems like it would work well with a touchscreen.

    http://www.flythissim.com/G1000.htm

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    Quote Originally Posted by weshollett View Post
    Hi Guys,

    I have been using FlightDeckTechnology interface cards for a while now but wish to change projects to the Cessna Mustang after Flight1 great aircraft. To do the Garmin 1000 I was thinking of interfacing with cards but would touchscreens be easier. I have 3 spare monitors and have recently found the following kit

    http://www.qqq.com.au/touch-screen-p...c5708e20c16003

    Has anybody had any experience with these ready done kits within FSX. All feedback appreciated.

    Wes.

    Here is a taste of the Mustang1 This is my home pit on a flight to Aspen. Flight 1 Mustang is the base software.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfhA6kvbHw0

    Scott

  6. Thanks Kennair thanked for this post
  7. #6
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    Very cool Scott, now I'm really going to have to give this thing a go.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Per Alm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    184
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    Hello!

    Maybe a bit off topic but we also planned to use a touchscreen for our EFB. however, touchscreens are still a bit pricey and we were not sure if there would be any incompatibility problems. So we decided to control the EFB software via a small Touchpad which is mounted on the pedestal panel. It works really great. I can recommend 'CIRQUE TOUCHPAD EASY USB'.
    The EFB is from FSWidgets.

    Regards

    Per Alm

  9. #8
    10+ Posting Member weshollett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    24
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: TouchScreens Question.

    Some nice info there guys, it really helps. The main reason I won't be using Flight Deck Technology Simboards and changing to a touch screen app of some type is the Simboards don't support Vista / Win 7. Here in Australia we are spoilt with choice with ORBX scenery but it is demanding and needs to run with a good CPU/Ram and GFX Card.

    Also love the vid XOrionFE, I have the Flight1 Mustang and haven't flown anything other for quite a while.

    Wes.

Similar Threads

  1. Touchscreens and the PMDG FMC
    By visualchaosfx in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 01:50 AM