Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Does anyone have a SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with a servo? Thanks in advance.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  2. #2
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Hi, Ian has some stuff about this on his webpage, he might have something useful there. I'm not sure though.

    http://www.737ng.co.uk/help.htm
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Hondacop

    I think that Geremy might be referring to the Brake Pressure gauge that I built and the piccies are on Ian`s site.

    Sorry, but I have not yet written any code - I just used the IOTEST programme to check that it works. Perhaps this could be a good first project for you in using SIOC . You will never find a totally suitable example, so it is inevitable that you need to learn the syntax and use of SIOC texts and .ini files.

    Regards

    David

  4. #4
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    ah it's your work. Excellent guage, David. How do you manage to get the servo to work and to stop at the top (ie, max brake pressure) and not continue round and round the guage.

    I'm pretty much an amateur when it comes to the servo and motors side of things so could you give me some tips about that side of things if you wouldn't mind. Because it would be great to link it up to the park brake for example and the brake press guage moves up slightly.

    Thanks


    Gez
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Hi David! That is a nice looking brake pressure gauge indeed. Job well done!

    Like you guessed, I do have the gauge finished and hooked up. I just need to write the SIOC script for it. I already have a working SIOC script for the Flaps Indicator with servo, so if I can find out the offset from which I can pull the brake pressure data from, then I can write a script for it by using the flaps script as a template on how to begin.

    Any idea which is the offset? I looked at the FSUIPC offsets and I couldn't see any that references brake pressure. Do I need to do some calculations with other offsets which will give me a brake pressure reading? Or is it an avionics offset which maybe SimAvionics already has available?

    Thanks for any help!
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    948
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Geremy, Hondacop

    Thanks for your kind comments.

    Geremy

    An unmodified servo will only travel about 180deg and by using the IOTEST programme you can establish the values for when the servo is at start, middle and end positions. The SIOC script programme can then send any value within these limits and the servo will move to that position.

    It is possible on some servos to adapt them so that they can rotate 360deg, however, to achieve this you need to disconnect the drive to an internal potentiometer, thereby losing reference points and creating the problem that you mentioned. It is possible to keep some degree of control by counting within the SIOC programme, but it is messy as you need a switch to create a start point and if you turn off the computer before you remove power to the servo, it goes wild - overall not to be recommended.

    Hondacop

    Re a FSUIPC offset - I did not see one when I last looked. Consequently, I was going to use an analogue input from the brake pedal travel to create a value to drive the pressure gauge. The idea of also linking in the parking brake was a good one Geremy.

    Regards

    David

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Quote Originally Posted by fordgt40 View Post
    I was going to use an analogue input from the brake pedal travel to create a value to drive the pressure gauge.
    Hmmmm You have a good point here, David. I know this might just be coincidence but in the autobrake panel, there are 4 "steps" for braking.

    1
    2
    3
    Max

    When you look at the brake pressure gauge, the gauge is numbered from 0 to 4. In other words, once can deduce the following relationship between the Autobrake panel and brake pressure gauge:

    1 on Autobrake panel = 1 on brake pressure gauge
    2 on Autobrake panel = 2 on brake pressure gauge
    3 on Autobrake panel = 3 on brake pressure gauge
    Max on Autobrake panel = 4 on brake pressure gauge

    So yes, maybe using the toe brake travel where max toe brake equals 4 on the brake pressure, could do the trick!
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Brake Pressure

    mornin' chaps........
    first the brake pressure gauge shows the hydraulic pressure available in the accumulator (reservoir). normal operating pressure is 3000lbs/sq. in. here's a quote from the POH.....

    "Brake Accumulator
    The brake accumulator is pressurized by hydraulic system B. If both normal and
    alternate brake system pressure is lost, trapped hydraulic pressure in the brake
    accumulator can still provide several braking applications or parking brake
    application."

    the 1-2-3-MAX settings on the autobrake are different levels of controlled deceleration
    which the autobrakes apply on application.

    david, quite correct, there is no offset i can see for the brake pressure. however remembering that the pressure is generated by the pumps, it may be an idea to use the engine hydraulic pressure offsets of (Eng1) 08D8 and (Eng2) 0970. i've checked these this morning and both are returning a value of around the 3200lbs.

    hope that helps you out.

    have a great day chaps ..... ian
    Mr. Ian. P. Sissons is hereby recognised as an Honorary Flight Sim Captain following his passing in February 2016. This is in recognition for his commitment to Flight Simulation.

    www.mycockpit.org Featured Builder August 2008 www.737ng.co.uk
    FS9/PROSIM737/CPFLIGHT/Lots of BU0836X's and a Beer Fridge

  9. Thanks Oter3 thanked for this post
  10. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie HondaCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    240
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Brake Pressure

    Quote Originally Posted by ian@737ng.co.uk View Post
    david, quite correct, there is no offset i can see for the brake pressure. however remembering that the pressure is generated by the pumps, it may be an idea to use the engine hydraulic pressure offsets of (Eng1) 08D8 and (Eng2) 0970. i've checked these this morning and both are returning a value of around the 3200lbs.
    Ian, you are the man!!! I guess we can use those offsets indeed.
    Regards,

    Efrain "E" Ruiz (HondaCop)
    LiveDISPATCH @ http://www.livedispatch.org

  11. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: SIOC script for the Brake Pressure gauge with servo?

    Read this, might interest you

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/show...ght=real+gauge

    No code, real gauge, works very well.
    full specs :

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/atta...5&d=1219119026

    video on the last page of the thread.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. PMDG 737NG Overhead Diff Pressure Gauge, without Project Magenta
    By Daveanne in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 05:01 AM
  2. SIOC script for Fuel Temp Servo ?
    By markusr in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 03:28 PM
  3. 737 Brake press gauge
    By salvapatuel in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-25-2009, 09:05 AM
  4. A320 Brake Pressure Gauge
    By Suggy in forum JeeHell Ware Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 07:00 PM
  5. Flaps with servo script
    By Abrupto in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 08:28 AM